Closed Off Fireplace Built In - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 08-21-2015, 06:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Closed off fireplace built in


I have 5 closed off fireplaces in my house and I have no plans of trying to make them work again. For the one in the living room, I'd like to hang my TV above the mantel, no problem there. For the actual fireplace insert though, as long as it wasn't bricked up, is there a problem with making a few shelves and whatnot in there to house the electronics and running cabling up to the TV? I think the only problem comes with sealing off the chimney at the top of the insert rather than the front of the fireplace.

edit: grammar
bleujob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2015, 07:35 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 3,539
Rewards Points: 7,001
Default


Just make sure no gas burning device are using that flue.

For completely unused chimneys one can always cap them at the top using metal and a couple of inches of concrete finished with mortar for appearance.
__________________
Colbyt
Retired drapery and home furnishings installer.
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Colbyt For This Useful Post:
bleujob (08-21-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2015, 07:44 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Sounds good! I've been reading up to make sure that they are vented to prevent condensation from building up inside. I'll make sure that the top is closed off with a vented cap and then seal the bottom. sound good??
bleujob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2015, 05:54 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 3,539
Rewards Points: 7,001
Default


Probably fine. Chimneys are dirty so I might use a large conduit to minimize the mess. Any plastic pipe will do for LV stuff.
__________________
Colbyt
Retired drapery and home furnishings installer.
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 06:12 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default


Good call. That'll make it easier to add more or modify later if need be.
bleujob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2015, 09:30 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4,635
Rewards Points: 4,424
Default


If no water is getting in, you can seal it off just above the area you wish to use.

ron45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas (propane) Fireplace: Pilot OK, full flame goes out darthsmozers HVAC 4 11-23-2013 02:32 PM
Outdoor Gas Fireplace txtig Concrete, Stone & Masonry 1 08-13-2013 08:41 PM
Fireplace reno help, wood to gas fireplace jsunsun Building & Construction 4 01-15-2013 08:09 PM
fireplace ssheehan General DIY Discussions 3 04-25-2012 02:55 PM
new opening in fireplace? burningbaal Remodeling 3 10-11-2009 01:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts