Casing Trim Installation Technique - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-18-2015, 02:57 AM   #1

Casing trim installation technique

I am replacing all of the trim in our house with wider molding than was there previously. The installation is going very slowly and someone has suggested to me that my technique is to blame and that certain tricks exist which -- apparently -- I have no knowledge of. The problem is that the walls had been wallpapered and the wallpaper curls up along the edge of the previous trim. Under these curled up edges there is a buildup of wallpaper paste such that the wallpaper edge forms a hard ridge which in some places exceeds 1/4" high and which my wider casing trim must now span while still lying flat. Also, the door and window jambs are as much as 1/2" out of plane with respect to the surrounding drywall, which itself is quite wavy. The previous trim was thin and relatively flexible and seemed to twist and conform and spanned the gaps without much difficulty. But I am replacing it with 3/4" and 1" thick flat mdf that has no such flexibility. I tried scraping away the wallpaper edge ridges but decided this route was too messy and too time consuming. So, instead, I have been using a table saw to rip grooves and flats on the backsides of my new casing as necessary to get it to lie flat. This has also been time consuming but the results have been good so I have persisted with it, but now it has been suggested that there is a better method. I was not told what that better method was, though. Is there a better way? What might it be? Thanks!
ngarwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-18-2015, 08:43 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,344