Best Way To Add Exterior Window Trim? - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-17-2017, 04:04 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Best way to add exterior window trim?

Sorry if this is a blatantly obvious topic. I did a quick search and didn't come up with much and need to get this rocking and rolling.

I'm a roofer and have have done a fair amount of 'diy home improving' (loft in shop, carpets and hardwood through, redid the yards and fence etc etc). . I'm capable but no experience with the detail on exterior trim work.

So the idea is this - Gonna add stone veneer in the highlighted area below and now I'm contemplating adding craftsman style trim to give it a more completely look. Would it be best to cut back the lap and redo the detail for the new trim or could I go over existing siding? I'll be color changing the house this summer, so I'm not overly concerned with ripping it apart, but I don't want to go above and beyond to the extent that I'm wasting time.

First pic is the height of where the stone will go. Second is a close up of the windows.

Any input is appreciated!

Moises360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-17-2017, 05:55 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 17,896

Re: Best way to add exterior window trim?

There's not enough room to add the trim, it will be to close to the inside and outside corners.
Advertisement

Old 03-17-2017, 06:52 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2

Re: Best way to add exterior window trim?