Basement Room Insulation - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Nealtw

Old 11-14-2017, 10:49 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 104

Basement room insulation

Hi,

I recently removed some wood paneling, framing and fiberglass insulation from a room in my basement that a previous owner finished many many years ago. One small piece of the paneling was wrinkled, I believe due to a condensation/moisture issue, as my house was under renovation for the summer and the A/C was turned off. Having removed everything, I don't see any obvious signs of moisture, but I recognize we're now into a drier season.

I'm looking to now insulate this space before we get into the really cold temperatures in winter. I've attached a few pictures of the space.

I am a total DIY newbie and have a few questions:
- are there any good videos/tutorials to help show me the best way to insulate this space? Is this a good one? -
(up to about the 6:17 mark...the framing seems excessive!)
- what is the recommended rigid foam insulation needed? A certain R value? I'm in Southern Ontario.
- are those foundation form ties in those pictures? Would I handle them in the same as shown in the video above?
- how do I navigate the corners on my walls with the insulation? You'll see in the pictures that one section is a bay window shape. Again, any videos showing how to do so would help.
- I'm still deciding whether to finish the space now or not. If I don't, is it ok to just leave the foam insulation up? Or is it recommended to frame right away?
- If I do finish it, would standard 2x4 framing be recommended? The previous finishing job had some ceiling framing for ceiling tiles that were in. Is that still usable or should I replace that?
- Any other things I should be aware of, based on my plans and the pictures attached?