Basement Corner Frame Around Electrical Panel Question - Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 12-29-2013, 08:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Basement corner frame around electrical panel question


So I'm looking to finish a space in my basement. The space has an electrical panel near a corner of the concrete walls. I am putting up 2" rigid foam on the concrete and that will leave me 2 1/4 inches to the edge of the panel. What is the best way to frame that corner? If the panel has to be moved then that would also require extending about a dozen wires coming out of it that run to various locations in the house so it would be nice if I didn't have to move the panel.
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2013, 09:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,375
Rewards Points: 17,890
Default


Post a picture so we can see what your talking about.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2013, 10:00 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


There is 2 1/4" between the face of the foam and the side of the panel.


Last edited by suedeuno; 12-30-2013 at 10:30 AM.
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2013, 10:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 36,375
Rewards Points: 17,890
Default


That wall the panel is mounted to should have been built out with a 2 X 4 wall so the panel cover would be flush with the wall covering.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-02-2014)
Old 12-30-2013, 11:11 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I haven't done anything yet outside of leaning that foam up. It's not attached yet, so I can do anything at this point. I'm just wondering if there is a way to frame that corner without moving the electrical panel, and still adequately insulate to meet code.

I realize that the wall with the electrical panel needs to be framed but I'm trying to figure out how to do it with limited space in that corner. There isn't room to adhere foam on both walls of that corner and frame it. I could not use foam in that corner and frame away from the wall but then there is a thermal hole in that corner.
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 11:57 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Only thing I thought of was to foam both walls, and build the frame out in front of that panel and cut an access panel to the electrical panel. Anyone have better ideas?
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 04:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 633
Rewards Points: 766
Default


Don't you need to have more clearance from the center of the panel to the right (15"??), or is the code different in your state, or grandfatherd (looks newish)?

B
Beepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:31 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Beepster View Post
Don't you need to have more clearance from the center of the panel to the right (15"??), or is the code different in your state, or grandfatherd (looks newish)?

B
Just checked the code, yea looks to be 30" width of clearance . The rub is the builder didn't even provide that as there is only 12" from the center to the concrete wall and apparently the inspector didn't care enough to make him move it.
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 08:49 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 633
Rewards Points: 766
Default


Well, if that permit is signed off and closed then it isn't your problem.

My basement buildout was similar. I did 1" XPS with 2x4 and drywall over. The panel was mounted on .5" plywood. I framed around the panel leaving 6" or so on each side. When totally finished I plan on putting a cabinet door over the opening to hide the panel. I may even put a lightning bolt on the door.

B
Beepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:53 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 11,730
Rewards Points: 526
Default


Sounds dangerous to me. I want my panel board accessible to firemen if I'm not home or unconscious..... then my HO Insurance carrier would have to pay as I at least followed code minimum in my work;http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic..._39_par103.htm

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present below my answer or words underlined/colored, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed/linked to, they are there without my consent.
17,000 dryer fires a year, when did you last clean the inside of the dryer near motor or the exhaust ducting?
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:29 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


I talked to the code building dept and they asked me to send them a design so he could offer options. If they sign off and there is ample space then I'm good with it.
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2014, 09:37 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Wink


Quote:
Originally Posted by Beepster View Post
Well, if that permit is signed off and closed then it isn't your problem.

My basement buildout was similar. I did 1" XPS with 2x4 and drywall over. The panel was mounted on .5" plywood. I framed around the panel leaving 6" or so on each side. When totally finished I plan on putting a cabinet door over the opening to hide the panel. I may even put a lightning bolt on the door.

B
That's interesting that they will let you cover it with a door. The city told me if I were to put an access panel in front of mine then I would have to allow for 3 feet space in front. I'll have to frame and gyp to the panel face. Sounds like you had a bit more space. I have 4 1/2 inches from panel edge to the concrete wall. Pretty ridiculous that the builder got that approved.

Last edited by suedeuno; 01-04-2014 at 09:43 AM.
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 06:45 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 516
Default


couple things ... need qualified person to do this ...

from the picture it appears that you could unbolt the panel and move it to the left so studs could be installed to make the corner .. 6-8 " or so ..

or

make that corner a 45 degree and mount the panel there ...basically swival the panel ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 09:13 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default


Yea, I looked at the wires coming out of the top and I think that there is maybe 5 or so inches of slack enough to move the panel to the left. Not a lot but it might buy enough space to frame that corner. Much more than that I think would require all of those wires to be extended which I think would blow up the cost.

45 degree corner is an interesting idea, I hadn't thought of that. I'll ask the city what they think of that. Thanks.

Last edited by suedeuno; 01-05-2014 at 10:01 AM.
suedeuno is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to suedeuno For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (01-05-2014)
Old 01-06-2014, 05:17 PM   #15
DIYer
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 280
Rewards Points: 302
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
couple things ... need qualified person to do this ...

from the picture it appears that you could unbolt the panel and move it to the left so studs could be installed to make the corner .. 6-8 " or so ..

or

make that corner a 45 degree and mount the panel there ...basically swival the panel ...
I was thinking the same thing. Kill the power, unbolt the panel, and push it over as far as you can stretch the wires.

BUT, the 45 degree swivel idea is genius!
mystic_cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to - prevent basement mold crazymountain How To Guides 36 07-23-2014 06:02 PM
Basement Electrical Panel - Load Center poorboy01 Electrical 8 09-20-2013 03:39 PM
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
Electrical Panel question pattyobrien3 Electrical 19 09-14-2012 11:11 AM
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts