DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Where are the "Carpenters" ????

3K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  wrldruler 
#1 ·
So I am trying to convert my garage to family room. Due to permit rules, I have to hire licensed folks for the major parts. It's a relatively straightforward task, and I want to act as my own general contractor (I work as a project manager at a bank, and I have some renovation knowledge).

I need to find someone that can help with some framing and stairs, and I can't find a "carpenter".

I have brought in 4 guys so far, and every one of them has tried to estimate the entire job, start to finish. For the last 2, I was very clear that I only wanted help with the framing. They come back with an estimate of like $13K or $17K which includes framing, electrical, HVAC, etc. When I start to tear their estimate into smaller pieces, like I originally asked, they tell me they aren't interested in such a small job.

I have no problem hiring one person to do all the work, but I want visiblity into all the parts so I can gaurantee quality. For instance, while talking to these contractors, I heard two contractors wanting to skimp me on the HVAC, and one got a little loose and easy with the electrical permit rules.

So where can I find a "carpenter"? Seems that everybody is a "contractor" now. The Yellow Pages don't even list anything under "Carpenter". What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,

Chris

See less See more
#2 ·
Call a lumber company...Not a box store or home center...A lumber wholesaler that doesn't do retail business. Ask to talk to a salesman. Any lumber salesman will be more than happy to recommend framers to you, because he's paid on commission when they buy lumber from him. Many lumber salesmen are very, very tied in with carpenters.

Looking in the yellow pages won't help you usually. Most carpenters aren't normally in the advertising biz, and often work just with builders or by word of mouth recommendations.