New Cabinet Is...mostly Good - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By bcemail

Old 04-28-2020, 01:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 302

New cabinet is...mostly good

First a big thanks for all the help and inspiration around here. Finally was able to install all the doors and everything for my sort of emergency bath vanity rebuild (https://www.diychatroom.com/f14/need...r-sink-683387/). Still have some trim to finish to cover up the edges of the linoleum. Was going to pull that, but wasn't ready to deal with the creaking subfloor and what that might hold!

Overall, I'm very happy how everything came out, seeing as I've never built a cabinet or doors before, and the space was nowhere near square. Having to squeeze it into a presized nook was a pain, and I'm sure getting to build a nice, square, free-standing cabinet would be nicer. Plus only using a circular saw and hand held trim router meant a LOT more time. I probably would just buy doors next time. The building of the doors just took some practice to make the grooves, but then all the filling, sanding, priming, painting, trying to get it smooth, etc., took a loooong time. Originally priced out painted cabinet doors, then was surprised that unpainted maple were cheaper, then I painted mine and saw why. Next time, I'd go with non-painted, but I had enough mistakes this time that I needed paint to smooth it all out.