Nvidia And Windows 10? - PC Repairs & Upgrades - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-30-2016, 09:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,987
Rewards Points: 2,458
Default

nvidia and windows 10?


My old pc is core2duo but still fine for me. But since taking the free windows 10 from 7, the video part shuts down at random. I can hear the audio.
Windows 10 direct x 12 may be the reason. Anybody suggest something? Is it time to upgrade the pc with current motherboard standards or make do with new video card? If new card, one I'm getting will be geforce gtx 750 series - about the minimum that nvidia groups in the direct x 12 ready.

Like the house maintenance, I want to fix/replace when I can before I get too old to care.
carpdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2016, 03:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NW GA
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


If you haven't already check for updated drivers right from the manufacturer website. It could also be a monitor going so if you have a known working one try it with that too. The direct x shouldn't cause issues unless you are trying to play games or use software that uses the direct x. Depending on the pc brand the manufacturer may also have diagnostics you can run to test if the card is going.
badams is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2016, 06:59 PM   #3
Member
 
ZZZZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Middle of nowhere, AZ
Posts: 7,718
Rewards Points: 2,156
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


I too suspect it is a driver issue. Double-check that you have the latest genuine NVIDIA driver for your hardware..

How much RAM do you have? Depending what you have running, Windows 10 can use up a lot more RAM than Windows 7 did.

When the video goes out, check the Windows Event Viewer error logs and see it that provides any clues.
.
.
__________________
Just my 7 cents (2 cents after taxes and inflation).
ZZZZZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2016, 07:01 AM   #4
Anonymous Tard
 
getrex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Try uninstalling the driver and then rebooting.
getrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 09:04 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Ahmedabad
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


I think you have to increase your RAM and reinstall drivers
viveksuthar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2017, 11:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,821
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Quote:
Originally Posted by viveksuthar View Post
I think you have to increase your RAM and reinstall drivers
It's not the ram. The OP would have other symptoms. If the card is OK, as tested in another machine, then it's drivers. It could very well be a dying card.

Cheers!

Last edited by supers05; 04-04-2017 at 11:24 PM.
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 03:31 PM   #7
Challenge Everything!
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 499
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Folks,
Who are we kidding here? Windows 10, hate it or not, is pretty darn good with Drivers.
But we are dealing with an Intel Core2Duo, released in 2006!
It is a miracle it is still running!

Save the Data, (while you can) dump that Brick and buy a new computer please.
Btw, I don't like Win10 myself, but have to deal with it on a daily base because my Customers keep bringing those things in, lol!

Nothing personal.
Deja-vue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 05:32 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


5 months ago? Hope they figured it out....

As for using an old computer, ask a tech-savoy friend to install Linux.

My 2005 Toshiba 2gig mem laptop (Pentium M) runs Debian/Linux without a flinch.
Nobr8ks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:08 PM   #9
Challenge Everything!
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 499
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobr8ks View Post
5 months ago? Hope they figured it out....

As for using an old computer, ask a tech-savoy friend to install Linux.

My 2005 Toshiba 2gig mem laptop (Pentium M) runs Debian/Linux without a flinch.
Good for you!

I run a water-cooled 8 Core i7 with 32 Gigs or Memory on dual SSD's in Raid.
I hate slow computers, no matter what you tell me about how these old clunkers run so fine and dandy on Linux!
What a joke.

Wake up, Folks, it is 2017.
Deja-vue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 09:48 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,821
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deja-vue View Post
Good for you!
...
... dual SSD's in Raid.
....
I hope that you make regular backups if you're running striped. (I assume so since you like speed.) And, in that case, you should be using a dedicated hardware raid. The on board solutions are convenient, but can be a tad slow. Striped is quick but inherently less reliable.

PS. Endlessly spending on computers isn't everyone's requirement. There's plenty of people that have no problem using a well maintained older computer. Word processing and web browsing really isn't that demanding.

Cheers!
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 03:35 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


I have Win10 and nVidia and it's allright
szym284 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 04:47 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Deja-vue,

If I were still gaming, sure, would've built similar setup as yours. Remember SLI ? Before NVIDIA... Well, thats how long it's been. If you need something that powerful? Good for you I guess. If you have it cause it's cool, that's fine too.

My desktops went away shortly after wifi printers hit the market. Fitting, my semi-retirement from communications sector was around same time, about the only thing print these days are my boarding passes.

And many thanks to this forum, I've become a decent handyman around my house. Doing my own coffered ceiling, to maintaining my Noritz tankless waterheater. Guess what I am saying Deja-vue, dont be afraid of learning new things.

supers05, I still spend money on computer stuff. Just built another Raspberry Pi + hifiBerry DAC (RCA out) hat board mounted on 7" touch screen running Raspbian with conky as whole-house music manager.
Nobr8ks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2017, 03:11 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,821
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobr8ks View Post
... I still spend money on computer stuff. Just built another Raspberry Pi + hifiBerry DAC (RCA out) hat board mounted on 7" touch screen running Raspbian with conky as whole-house music manager.
Very cool!

Cheers!
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2017, 12:16 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Quote:
Originally Posted by supers05 View Post
Very cool!

Cheers!
Now just need to cut into wall (Once I decide where), run power & network. Local musics on Linux server (smb), other music comes from Verizon music channels- HD Homerun (6 tuners) plus Pandora one. DAC/Pi plugs into an older multi zone Integra DTR 7.8.

Nobr8ks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2017, 01:02 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 7,821
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Re: nvidia and windows 10?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobr8ks View Post
Now just need to cut into wall (Once I decide where), run power & network. Local musics on Linux server (smb), other music comes from Verizon music channels- HD Homerun (6 tuners) plus Pandora one. DAC/Pi plugs into an older multi zone Integra DTR 7.8.

rPIs are great for this application. Easier to work with then an ardino without needing much extra additions.

Cheers!
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Budget HTPC Solidify Home Theater 10 02-14-2016 04:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts