Drilling With Water ? - Metal Fabrication - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Metal Fabrication

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes

Old 10-13-2018, 09:54 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2,808

Drilling with water ?

I'm working on a modification to a snow blade & had to drill some 25/32" holes through mild steel with a cheapo HF drill press .

I'm an average welder but have always had problems dulling bits .

Went to Acme tools & plunked down $18.00 for a bit & asked the guy about drilling steel . He said :

1. Stable , flat surface support .

2. Steady , light to medium pressure (feed) .

3............& use WATER to cool the bit !

I went home thinking it over & decided to give it a try . I already had one of those old restaurant style ketchup squeeze bottles so I put some water in it & started drilling ........... It worked like a charm ! Drilled 5 holes in a jiffy !

Am I the only guy who didn't know this ?
dd57chevy is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-13-2018, 10:50 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 6

Re: Drilling with water ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dd57chevy View Post

Am I the only guy who didn't know this ?
Water is a new one to me, too. I usually use cutting oil and have found cobalt bits to be superior for drilling into even hardened steel. The angle ground on to the business end of the drill bit matters, too--wood and metal do not share optimal angles.
w0j0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-13-2018, 11:17 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 62

Been using the water method for years works good for me. Make sure you keep the drill cleaned as some parts rust very quickly.
dd57chevy likes this.
ClarenceBauer is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-13-2018, 11:18 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 6,836