Roku, Or Whatever - Home Theater - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 07-30-2020, 09:53 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 899
Rewards Points: 1,144
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


This recent firestick query turned into a Roku discussion:

https://www.diychatroom.com/f13/info...-stick-687463/

I have had a 'hockey puck' style Roku through all its generations. Last version, most expensive, is well worth it for me. The Ultra 4660 has 720p to 4k capability. It has the latest Roku processor. It has reasonable channel storage capability but lets user expand with their own micro SD slot. It has hardwire Cat6 ethernet connection besides wi-fi a/b/g/n/ac. Remote has headphone jack and comes with decent enough headphones.

My favorite feature is USB input jack. With my PlayOn license I have downloaded mucho content from Netflix, HBOgo, Amazon etc in mp4 format. I keep on an external 4TB hard drive (just a USB connector, no transformer) and Roku supplies enough power to run it. Works with thumb drives too.

There are newer models so,

Check out the historical models on Wikipedia:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roku

I have a couple of TVs with Roku built in but prefer outboard add on style because I take it with me when traveling.
ZZZZZ likes this.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diyorpay For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (07-30-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2020, 10:25 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


thanx. i am going to get the basic $25 model today at walmart. for $25 its cheap and easy enough to try it out and learn. i will then go from there. saving over $100 a month gives me room to experiment.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2020, 10:27 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


oh. one thing i would ike to know. the comcrap modem. i would like to know how to replace that. the tale one with all the lights.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2020, 10:30 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


this one. as you can see, we need to keep the phone working.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by kwikfishron; 07-30-2020 at 04:51 PM. Reason: Rotate Pictute
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 11:07 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 899
Rewards Points: 1,144
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


Don't get confused that by owning a Roku unit of any type will replace cable tv. By cutting the cord, if that's what you do, you won't get any cable channels. Roku is just a streaming system that let's you pick and choose what you will watch.

Netflix, Amazon, HBO, Hulu etc are all extra but if you are careful selecting a cable company replacement (and maybe use a roof antenna too), you usually pay far less than cable.

In many states, having only high speed internet means no more taxes or at least a lot fewer taxes. Besides all the above add on services (also Apple, Disney+ and more), you should look at streaming services that provide bundled packages of cable type channels. These are SlingTV, AT&Tnow (new owner of HBO with HBOmax), Hulu+, more. Any of these get added to your Roku device. With sports very delayed and subject to possible cancellation, adding them may not be cost effective.

Suggest doing what you said, get Roku and play with it.

Equipment wise, if you dumped your cable company, you'd save on equipment rental. But likely no cable at any tv w/out a converter box = roku or similar at every tv. Most people turn in the modem and router or the gateway (combo of modem & router) and replace with their own. Depending upon the internet speed you select from Comcast (or another provider), there may be sweet price points in not buying the most expensive modem and router that will do the job.

If you break away entirely, consider adding a VOIP phone system on your own. Your Comcast system is VOIP. I have ooma and it costs about $7 per month because all you pay is taxes after buying the ooma device.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diyorpay For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (07-30-2020)
Old 07-30-2020, 03:51 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


ok, i have a problem. roku is requiring me to enter CC info. what do i do ?
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 04:36 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


ok. i have it working = HAD TO enter CC info and other stuff = NOT happy about that.
because i know, that they can and/or will try to charge me for something without me knowing.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 04:41 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 104
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
ok. i have it working = HAD TO enter CC info and other stuff = NOT happy about that.
because i know, that they can and/or will try to charge me for something without me knowing.
I only get charged for what I sign up for.
Joeywhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:06 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


alright, i am messing with this, but it looks like i am mostly not into it. now, my wife could use it now&then. and we could use it to not rent movies in the winter, maybe.

i know have another question. how do i set it that i never pay for anything ? maybe alter my CC info ? if i even can.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:12 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 104
Default


There isn't a ton of free content available... Most of it will be subscription based such as Netflix, Amazon prime, Hulu, etc.

There are some free services though. Mostly very old movies and shows. It let's you know if you need to pay for something.
Joeywhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:20 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 899
Rewards Points: 1,144
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


In the other thread about firesticks, on 5/12 I advised BigJim:

You will need to get a Roku account and get a name and password. Anywhere it requests your credit card info, skip it because you can enter that later or never if you don't want pay services (Netflix, many others).

At this point, enter your account (on a computer) and try to delete your CC info.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:23 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


i just tried to enter a "not mine" number = not a chance.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:46 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 899
Rewards Points: 1,144
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


Log in on a computer, go to account and delete it.
Start over with a new account with different user name and pw. When it says enter a CC, scroll down, not sure exactly where, to where it says 'I'll enter later'.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 06:51 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 7,172
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyorpay View Post
Log in on a computer, go to account and delete it.
Start over with a new account with different user name and pw. When it says enter a CC, scroll down, not sure exactly where, to where it says 'I'll enter later'.
i am on a PC. there is none of my info to delete, it doesn't show it.
it does not say "enter later" anywhere. it "does" say REQUIRED everywhere.

but, like joey says, if it does alert me for payment, i can just move on . then, i could get $25 worth of use out of it, somehow, someday.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 11:00 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Posts: 941
Rewards Points: 1,876
Default

Re: Roku, or whatever


We have several Roku's, including a '3' and couple of the 'stick' ones, which all work very well. We have 100mb internet that runs the Roku's, several Kindles, a few cell phones, our VOIP 'home' phone, and several computers. VOIP phone is OOMA ($200 startup & <$5/month); phones are all Tracfone (<$15/month per line), and the internet service is $70/month. Add Amazon Prime and Netflix. So, everything, including service for 7 cell phones, a 'landline' with free long distance, and enough video options to keep all 8 of us happy, comes in under $225/month. Oh, and I have a homemade outdoor antenna, that was basically free, that gets us 6 local broadcast channels.
HotRodx10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts