Need To Know For Cable Splitters - Home Theater - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > Home Theater

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-09-2019, 03:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 161
Rewards Points: 314
Default

Need to know for cable splitters


Wife and I just moved.

New place has cable ran to all the rooms, but no splitter at the point the cable comes into the house.

One in, 6 out, to various rooms.

Looking around amazon are amplifiers, bi-directional splitters, and voltage blocking terminators...

I have comcast and want to have the ability to hook a TV up in the 6 rooms in the house with a cable jack. What do I need for a good picture?
Fisher1871 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2019, 05:01 PM   #2
DIYer who dabbles
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Kremmling, CO about 7500'
Posts: 508
Rewards Points: 1,006
Default

Re: Need to know for cable splitters


Umm, how do they magically split into 6 wires?

Comcast should do the work for you, setting you up either under a move package or as a new customer.

Depending on Comcast's agreement with your city/county, they may require a box for every TV.
__________________

The only stupid question is the one you DON'T ask!
Most of all, have fun! It ticks people off and ruins their day.
ktownskier is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ktownskier For This Useful Post:
Fisher1871 (07-10-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2019, 06:21 PM   #3
adam
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Re: Need to know for cable splitters


You probably need what's known as a 'drop amplifier' similar to this: https://www.amazon.com/Splitter-Sign...%2C129&sr=8-28


You should verify this with Comcast or perhaps they can suggest one.
adamz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to adamz For This Useful Post:
Fisher1871 (07-10-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2019, 06:39 PM   #4
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 7,754
Rewards Points: 1,812
Default

Re: Need to know for cable splitters


Quote:
Originally Posted by adamz View Post
You probably need what's known as a 'drop amplifier' similar to this: https://www.amazon.com/Splitter-Sign...%2C129&sr=8-28


You should verify this with Comcast or perhaps they can suggest one.
I had numerous TV's on one Comcast system...(but before HD).... and put on an off the shelf $40 amplifier...and it worked great.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
Fisher1871 (07-10-2019)
Old 07-10-2019, 11:43 AM   #5
Hammered Thumb
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: SuburbanIL
Posts: 810
Rewards Points: 1,620
Default

Re: Need to know for cable splitters


Quote:
Originally Posted by ktownskier View Post
Depending on Comcast's agreement with your city/county, they may require a box for every TV.
I thought that is the only way for Comcast, Direct or Dish. You can only split it after the box, so any other tv is watching whatever is on the main box. That's how they get you, $7.99 for every box monthly. Unless you stream service to each tv.
3onthetree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Mystriss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,540
Rewards Points: 3,076
Default

Re: Need to know for cable splitters


This is the one I bought for my setup, has the best reviews - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

My cable company has a "whole home" package for TiVo which uses a "MOAC" that lets us put it wherever we want and buy our own tivo boxes and such (or we can watch online or mobile too) If you have something like this splitter where your service line comes into the house then you've probably got a similar situation

Name:  20190117_125523coaxsplit.jpg
Views: 13
Size:  28.2 KB

That said some companies do require you to have a box to "unscramble the signal" at each TV - ours used to be like that maybe 10 years ago.
__________________

(I'm not a professional, just a homeowner who dabbles in a bit of everything DIY)

Last edited by Mystriss; 07-10-2019 at 12:13 PM.
Mystriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 12:19 PM   #7
DIYer who dabbles
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Kremmling, CO about 7500'
Posts: 508
Rewards Points: 1,006
Default

Re: Need to know for cable splitters


I have had Comcast, Directv and Dish. And they all have required a satellite box for every TV. However, I have negotiated to either getting all of the receivers free or at a reduced rate. Especially when renewal time comes up. Just ask for a retention specialist.

Another option is to have a smart device like a TV or or Blu-Ray player. You won't get anything from cable or satellite but you can sign up for Amazon Prime, Netflix, Hulu and others. And now you can even get DishAnywhere and similar apps so that you can watch it on your portable devices and even your smart devices.
__________________

The only stupid question is the one you DON'T ask!
Most of all, have fun! It ticks people off and ruins their day.
ktownskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 1,750
Default

Re: Need to know for cable splitters


Cut the cord. Mostly anyway.


Off Air antenna with a Tivo OTA and Tivo Mini's then add a Netflix account for streaming.
ktkelly is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts