In Wall Network - Networking - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 01-03-2019, 08:49 AM   #16
Guapo
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 5,940
Rewards Points: 11,950
Default

Re: In wall network


Quote:
Sounds like that Verizon installer needs more practice as well.
I guess so. I imagine like anything else, once you get a rhythm, it goes smoothly.
Guap0_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2019, 08:59 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,187
Rewards Points: 2,322
Default

Re: In wall network


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
I have phone, HDtv (up to 4 channels at the same time), and hi speed internet all off of the phone line. Our phone lines are CAT6 from the poles. I would find it hard to believe anymore then cat6 would be required just for internet anytime in the foreseeable future.
I agree with Bob Sanders
"The cable standard (for CAT6) specifies performance of up to 250 MHz compared to 100 MHz for Cat 5 and Cat 5e.]" (This is for a maximum length of 55 metres.)

In my opinion, and that of others, going higher than Cat 6 is "Gilding the Lilly" for no real benefit.

While the possible cable to use and its "Wall Plate" "KeyStone" terminations have been discussed on this site, no mention seems to have yet been made of the "Patch Panel" which will be necessary, since you "have a unique opportunity to run internet and cable TV to nearly every room in the house."
Obviously, all cables should (must) be run from/to such a "Patch Panel", which may also include housing for an ethernet "switch".

To terminate the conductors in any Patch Panel, you will need a Krone Punch Down Tool (such as https://www.ebay.com/itm/KRONE-LSA-P...Hfxt:rk:6:pf:0)

LAN cable checkers have also been mentioned and devices such as these (https://www.ebay.com/itm/Ethernet-Ne...b8cd:rk:1:pf:0) are quite cheap and adequate, as long as the battery used with them is "good".
FrodoOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2019, 10:33 AM   #18
Big Dog
 
Drachenfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,895
Rewards Points: 3,820
Default

Re: In wall network


Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodoOne View Post

While the possible cable to use and its "Wall Plate" "KeyStone" terminations have been discussed on this site, no mention seems to have yet been made of the "Patch Panel" which will be necessary, since you "have a unique opportunity to run internet and cable TV to nearly every room in the house."
Obviously, all cables should (must) be run from/to such a "Patch Panel", which may also include housing for an ethernet "switch".
If you are using a switch with sufficient ports to accommodate your drops, a patch panel is not necessary. The switch can be placed in the location where all the cables originate and each drop plugged in directly.

However, if for whatever reason a patch panel is desired, there are tool-less ones available.
__________________
My Deck Rebuild Progress

Fate whispers to the warrior, "You cannot withstand the storm," and the warrior whispers back, "I am the storm."
Drachenfire is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2019, 07:13 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,092
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Re: In wall network


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmusic View Post
i would install normal cat6 cable and pass a fiber also into the wall so if any upgrade is needed fiber cable should cover it

I love the idea of running 100G fiber for future proofing, and I could just get $40 converters for each room and skip cat6 cable in-wall entirely, but it doesn't seem like the world has settled on a fiber format yet so I'm a bit hesitant. SR4 FEC/LR4 FEC? SR4/LR4? SR10/LR10? I'm not sure which will come out on top.
Mystriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 07:21 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,092
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Re: In wall network


@Drachenfire

We're paying $180/month for 1G, but we get upgrades to 10G at the same price when they deploy that. ( Basically we helped pay for the companies switch to fiber. We're a smaller city of 300k so we have to crowd fund if we want the cool toys :D )

It's agreeably not really a matter of "need" per say. I'm the type of person who runs a 1600W platinum power supply and is upgrading to 802.11AX when the only thing we use wifi for at home is our cell phones.
Mystriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 03:17 AM   #21
Big Dog
 
Drachenfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,895
Rewards Points: 3,820
Default

Re: In wall network


As I said it is your home and therefore your prerogative as to what you install.

I hope you get it worked out.
__________________
My Deck Rebuild Progress

Fate whispers to the warrior, "You cannot withstand the storm," and the warrior whispers back, "I am the storm."
Drachenfire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 10:22 AM   #22
Challenge Everything!
 
Deja-vue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 266
Rewards Points: 491
Default

Re: In wall network


Quote:
I love the idea of running 100G fiber for future proofing
LOL!
Most of us are still "crawling" at 150/150 MBps, or, if you're lucky 300/300 MBps.

Just for a moment, think about what kind of Computer you'll need to handle 100G. (Gigabits per second.)
For large Downloads, let's say a 4K UHD Blu-Ray Iso is about 92 GB File-size.
A regular Computer Hard Drive won't be able to keep up with this Speed anymore, so one of the fastest SSD's is required. And before the Data hits the SSD, you better have at least 128 GB of Memory, and I'm talking about the fastest DDR4 you can get.
CPU? At least a i7 Extreme, or better the i9.
The Network Card alone will set you back a cool $1K! yes, $1000 for a NIC that "barely" does 100 gb/s.
I haven't even touched Routers, Cables, etc. to accomplish such speeds.
How about a Cisco Nexus Switch for $50.000?


I'm sitting pretty here on my Network, capable of 1G throughput.
I can transfer 100 GB to my NAS in about 16 minutes. That is enough for me.
Who knows, in a couple of Years we all have 100G Speed and the Hardware will be cheap. But, unlike Computer Hardware/Software I haven't seen Networks go faster at the same Rate.
Time will tell.
Deja-vue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 10:47 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,092
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Re: In wall network


@Deja-vue



I like all of those things!


That said, the whole point is to be ready for it. It's not like this house is leaving the family, our 20 year old is taking over when we retire heh
Deja-vue likes this.
Mystriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 01:33 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 200
Default

Re: In wall network


Sorry to add nothing other than I hate this entire thread out of pure jealousy . I can't even imagine having internet speeds like that. Stuck with topped out speeds on copper phone lines of 40/2. My network has been 1G for years with little hope of ever maxing that out from internet. Enjoy those speeds and good luck actually needing to build your network better because of your internet speeds and not just because you want to transfer stuff from computer a to computer b faster.
Fish_Stick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 06:14 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,092
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Re: In wall network


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish_Stick View Post
Sorry to add nothing other than I hate this entire thread out of pure jealousy . I can't even imagine having internet speeds like that. Stuck with topped out speeds on copper phone lines of 40/2. My network has been 1G for years with little hope of ever maxing that out from internet. Enjoy those speeds and good luck actually needing to build your network better because of your internet speeds and not just because you want to transfer stuff from computer a to computer b faster.
I can scarcely imagine it either honestly, I've had the 1G for a couple/few years and I'm still like "oooo its so fast!" I can still foggily remember the frustration of connecting to local BBS's with a 400 baud modem, and I thought that was the best thing since sliced bread. We just got hooked up with unlimited internet on Sunday so now we can stream movies too o.O We're sneaking into the 21st century \o/

Joking aside I'm hoping Cat8 will keep up for a long time. The youngest is "buying" the house when we retire to Arizona, I'm hoping to save him from having to deal with upgrading anything.
Fish_Stick likes this.
Mystriss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
efflorescence on plastered clay-block wall Maputo Drywall & Plaster 18 09-19-2018 01:53 AM
Plumbing bathroom & laundry rooms zannej Plumbing 7 06-07-2018 04:53 AM
Wall - LOAD BEARING: How to Move? user49172 Building & Construction 6 05-19-2017 04:53 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Master Brian Building & Construction 3 06-05-2015 10:32 PM
Advice on retaining wall replacement (pics inside) eastie Building & Construction 0 04-05-2010 10:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts