DIY Network For My Home - Networking - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Do It Yourself > PC Repairs & Upgrades > Networking

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-27-2017, 11:28 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Ideally a network runs to a central location so if you have a closet or an area in the basement you can dedicate to that it would work better (and be cleaner). Usually installers will use a 1/2" piece of plywood and mount everything to that. Check out an image search for "home network plywood" and you'll get a good idea. I'm planning on doing this when I purchase a new home because my network right now is spread out and it's not the greatest - but it works. Since it sounds like you'll only be doing internet traffic you can easily spread it out with switches at the room but if you start doing internal network traffic that will quickly bog down. Take some pics and show the progress!
Fish_Stick is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2017, 07:47 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


I'm lay out 1 inch pvc pipes {gray conduit} for my Ethernet and for my coax cable. I know I didn't have to but it looks cleaner in the basement rafters. My house is a modular and when the electric tech. ran wires to button up they ran them in the middle where the two half's and support beams meet instead of running off to the sides so I can build walls there , my air ducks are large also for my heat/air thats why I use the pipes to shield the cat cables a little. My service panel and cable is all in one corner of the house and will have to make it a closet for it . It's all on a sheet of plywood also. Got a question on selection on cable , just found out my cable provider is offering 400mg and 1000mg speed and there new modem is for cat6 2 port was told my service will have to have a tec come out and run a new cable from the pole to the house any way for the system. My question is should I go with Cat6 26 AWG Shielded Patch Cable or the stander 24 AWG?
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2017, 01:12 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by bote110 View Post
I'm lay out 1 inch pvc pipes {gray conduit} for my Ethernet and for my coax cable. I know I didn't have to but it looks cleaner in the basement rafters. My house is a modular and when the electric tech. ran wires to button up they ran them in the middle where the two half's and support beams meet instead of running off to the sides so I can build walls there , my air ducks are large also for my heat/air thats why I use the pipes to shield the cat cables a little. My service panel and cable is all in one corner of the house and will have to make it a closet for it . It's all on a sheet of plywood also. Got a question on selection on cable , just found out my cable provider is offering 400mg and 1000mg speed and there new modem is for cat6 2 port was told my service will have to have a tec come out and run a new cable from the pole to the house any way for the system. My question is should I go with Cat6 26 AWG Shielded Patch Cable or the stander 24 AWG?
Absolutely no jealousy here right now...so you have the very rare problem of having blazing fast speeds from your provider. Most of us don't have to worry about this rare condition. If you go with the 1G you're going to need everything run to a main switch if you want to take advantage of the full speeds. But if you're okay with a little congestion (seriously jealous) you can still run a single 1G line to say your living room and then branch it off to a switch for say a blu ray player, tv, game console etc. In a lot of cases most of those devices only have 100 meg connections anyway and can only use maybe 10-20 megs for HD video. Not sure what 4K is drawing these days for network. For starters though you'll be fine getting 1 run to each room and then branching out a little from there. Just make sure everything you get is gigabit speed. I think USA average is under 20 megs so none of this matters because even a poorly run 100 meg network won't have any problems keeping up with the provider speeds.

Not one to say here's how to run your life but I'd consider the price difference too because seriously, 400 megs is a ton of speed for a family just watching videos etc. Unless you're super heavy into uploading videos, doing remote backups and streaming on 5+ tvs you'll be happy with the 400 megs. But...if the price is like $5 a month difference I couldn't say that I wouldn't be getting 1g just because.

For your main runs since you're doing this all new, I'd use the 24 AWG (or 23) cable, CAT6 and give a little future expansion room over CAT5e. You'd be fine with the CAT5e but since you're running everything new and your speeds are already up to a gig, spend the extra $5 or $10 for a spool of CAT6 and not worry about upgrading those lines for a long time. Belkin makes good stuff and I've have good luck with Sewell Direct for cable. Be careful though as some places have great prices but they're selling CCA (copper clad aluminum) cables. Don't even waste your money on them. Good luck and enjoy those speeds!
Fish_Stick is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2017, 06:39 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


I have the Blast set up from comcast i think is 200-250mg {not sure} is like $5-$10. more what I pay now and like $15. more for 1mg. I was looking more at this type of cable .
https://www.showmecables.com/by-category/cables/cat5e-cat6-cat7/cat6-shielded-patch-cable
But I like these instead with the 26AGW SSTP:
https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...Cable&_sacat=0

Last edited by bote110; 12-03-2017 at 06:53 PM.
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 10:47 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


That's awesome, here it's like $10+ a month for only a few extra megs. I think the tiers are 5 mpbs, 7, 12 and 20. It's crazy how much they charge out here and how slow it is - all of those speeds have the same blazing fast 868 kbps upload speed.

For some reason I thought you'd be running all of this from bulk cable. Those premade cables are going to add up fast when you could get a 1000' for around $125 and then only need a crimper, a stripper (even cheap ones work for awhile) and some ends. It'll make your runs the correct distance so you don't have a pile of cable you need to tie up. 26 gauge wire is some pretty thin stuff even for networks which is usually 24 awg or now 23 awg for the CAT6a.
Fish_Stick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 12:09 PM   #21
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 2,585
Rewards Points: 320
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Cat 6 is limited to about 125'? for gigabit sipped at longer distances ~330', you need 6a. Speed is dependant on cable and more importantly proper end termination.

Your network, build it how you wish, but potentially I see a formula 1 race car being driven on the street.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 03:34 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by 47_47 View Post
Cat 6 is limited to about 125'? for gigabit sipped at longer distances ~330', you need 6a. Speed is dependant on cable and more importantly proper end termination.
About 50m for the full 10 gbps speeds but quickly drops off based on interference. After that it's only as good as 5e. 6a is 10 gbps up to 100m. 6 supports 250 MHz and 6a is 500 MHz so double the bandwidth specs due to the amount of twisting per pair. For the price difference though since labor is usually the expensive part 6a is worth the upgrade path cost I think.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=18592 (FTP)
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=18600 (UTP)

7 though is still at premium prices and not going to be something homeowners need anytime soon.

6a would also easily allow 10 gbps switches for the future where you could easily run multiple devices off the same feeder cable. More security cameras are running IP too and those will add a ton of internal traffic - enough that people run a second LAN just to handle them.
Fish_Stick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:33 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


I got the 23awg is better than a 24awg ,but what's the difference on the UTP = Un shielded and the FTP = shielded Twisted Pair? Would shielded Twisted Pairs be need if run by power lines? Hard to fine 200feet section.

Last edited by bote110; 12-06-2017 at 06:41 AM.
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 09:27 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by 47_47 View Post
Cat 6 is limited to about 125'? for gigabit sipped at longer distances ~330', you need 6a. Speed is dependant on cable and more importantly proper end termination.

Your network, build it how you wish, but potentially I see a formula 1 race car being driven on the street.
my house is only 56 feet long , my longest run will to the living room 50 feet away from my area of my network set-up , the bedrooms are about under 20-30 feet or less . I notice the cat6a 23 awg is hard to find in 100 feet length.
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 06:25 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


I know the Cat6a 23 awg ftp is the way to go , but it seams that the Cat6a 24 awg utp is easier to get 165ft down to 3ft. will there be a big notice form a 23 awg and the 24 awg?
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 06:54 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


[QUOTE=Fish_Stick;4891529]About 50m for the full 10 gbps speeds but quickly drops off based on interference. After that it's only as good as 5e. 6a is 10 gbps up to 100m. 6 supports 250 MHz and 6a is 500 MHz so double the bandwidth specs due to the amount of twisting per pair. For the price difference though since labor is usually the expensive part 6a is worth the upgrade path cost I think.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=18592 (FTP)
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=18600 (UTP)

I see that the UTP is easier to buy by the foot from 3ft to 165ft and the 1000 bulk. But the ftp is only offered in the bulk roll of 1000ft only. Will I get a big interference that my cable is running into the house where my power service panel is located? It's where my modem was first located by the cable company installment. Will the FTP be needed? I am planning on building a closet there to cover everything in that corner.
bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 11:58 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by bote110 View Post
I got the 23awg is better than a 24awg ,but what's the difference on the UTP = Un shielded and the FTP = shielded Twisted Pair? Would shielded Twisted Pairs be need if run by power lines? Hard to fine 200feet section.
The only difference is going to be a foil shield that is on the outside of the wires but under the jacket. Generally you won't need it though. How close to power are you running them?
Fish_Stick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 12:01 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by bote110 View Post
my house is only 56 feet long , my longest run will to the living room 50 feet away from my area of my network set-up , the bedrooms are about under 20-30 feet or less . I notice the cat6a 23 awg is hard to find in 100 feet length.
How are you planning on terminating these in the wall? Are you planning on wall plates or just a hole that you pull the cable through? Bulk cable is the preferred method since you cut what you need versus having a 76 ft run and you have to use a 100' premade cable instead. 1" conduit is also going to make things difficult pulling the ends through. I'll see if I have some laying around to see what you can easily pull through.
Fish_Stick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 12:14 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NM
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 212
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by bote110 View Post

I see that the UTP is easier to buy by the foot from 3ft to 165ft and the 1000 bulk. But the ftp is only offered in the bulk roll of 1000ft only. Will I get a big interference that my cable is running into the house where my power service panel is located? It's where my modem was first located by the cable company installment. Will the FTP be needed? I am planning on building a closet there to cover everything in that corner.
Once you start needing the more flexible shorter patch cables you should be out of the wall so no shielding is required (generally). Something else to note is that the patch cables are generally made with stranded wires and the bulk is solid wire. That's the reason the patch cable are more flexible.

Jackets are also completely different for patch the bulk stuff I listed. CMR is made for "vertical shaft applications" and prevents the spread of fire.

Here's something you need to ask yourself, "how easy are the cables going to be to run?" If you answer with a "I really only want to do this once and that's one too many" I would spend the extra and get the 6a FTP and be done with it. If you run a wire to every room you'll probably never need to run new cables again. Crimping and punchdown tools are cheap and you won't need the best quality to get you through under a 100 uses. However if you answer with "I love spending time under my house pulling cables everywhere and fishing wires" then I would run 5e for the moment and then worry about upgrading when the time comes.

Don't cheap out on a network when you have amazing internet speeds like that! As referenced above you're buying a formula 1 car and driving it on the street.
Fish_Stick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 09:29 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: East Freetown , MA.
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 219
Default

Re: DIY Network for my Home


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish_Stick View Post
The only difference is going to be a foil shield that is on the outside of the wires but under the jacket. Generally you won't need it though. How close to power are you running them?
Idiot elec tec ran all power wires down the middle of both half's of our house so I ran the 1in gray conduit about a foot away but had to run along my air duct. My cable comes in next to the power panel and all wire meet there . So when I get a small closet build around I can get all video cable on a side wall. The gray conduit comes in 10ft section so every 10 I added a box opening to get in so I can fish my lines thru. My cables i like to get with boots all in stall and just snip one end an fish up the wall to a wallplate an install a Keystone Jacks. So snipping one end will make fishing thru the conduit back words a lot easier starting from the panel and work my way up to each room.

bote110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oh! 1st home! Closing in two weeks! 30 Pics! Firefighter3244 General DIY Discussions 29 07-02-2014 08:03 PM
Need home plans for a simple barn home! RUMBLON General DIY Discussions 0 06-02-2011 03:05 PM
Home Network Help Frank Networking 10 11-28-2008 02:59 PM
Owning a home (not a mobile home) on leased land? Badfish740 Off Topic 11 03-30-2008 09:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts