Throttle Cable Replacement On JD - Tractors & Mowers - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care > Tractors & Mowers

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-27-2016, 12:49 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 106
Default

Re: Throttle Cable Replacement on JD


Quote:
Originally Posted by de-nagorg View Post
You do realize than now the throttle has to be set the opposite way from how you used to start this, since you got it backward.

And get some real hose clamps for that gas line. Worm drive band clamps, not the old wire , or other types.

They come in a box of up to a dozen for a few $ and are a must keep in supply at my place.

P.S. Those clamps that you have on there LEAK, over years they lose tension.

ED

Ed yes, thats why I said the rabbit is slow and the turtle is fast. Now the dashboard is opposite of what it shows. Yes, I agree about those damned clips. I have many issues (disabilities) with my hands and arms and those things there piss me off to no end. I traded up to some real clamps, problem is they aren't working with the sized hose that I got. I have them tighten to the gills and still got fuel leaking out. Thankfully, or maybe unthankfully, my dad lives in the next property over so he is able to point out the things I screw up on. I tend to not enlist his help when it comes to, well pretty much anything. If you have a son, you know how it gets sometimes.

I will post pictures tomorrow once I get the new fuel line in, and hopefully we can close the book on this chapter. Thanks for all the advice, I truly appreciate it.

Jack
jackislost is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2016, 05:23 PM   #17
Usually Confused
 
lenaitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,279
Rewards Points: 116
Default

Re: Throttle Cable Replacement on JD


Perhaps in hindsight using a generic cable was more trouble than it was worth, but anyway.

I'm not convinced an oversized fuel line is the cause of your no-start - it might be, it just strikes me as odd. Since your dash is apart, make sure all wires and connectors are secure (everywhere, but since you have been working around your dash it's a good place to start). There are some safety lock-outs that if not connected will allow the engine to turn over but not start - same going for some ignition wiring that goes up to the dash. Make sure the multi-connectors are clean and well seated. As a last shot, perhaps that 'spare' wire mentioned in an earlier post wasn't spare after all and meant to go somewhere. If you have a meter, see if it is positive (ignition on and/or off) or ground. If ground, touch it to chassis as see what happens. I agree with another contributor that the connector looks like a chassis ground.
lenaitch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lenaitch For This Useful Post:
jackislost (07-27-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2016, 05:55 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 106
Default

Re: Throttle Cable Replacement on JD


Update on the JD. She is a running. Got the new fuel line put on, the 1/4 inch one. Blew the gas through the filter, and had a little trouble starting it. But it finally started and ran as usual. Did not get a chance to drive around on it so, hopefully she still drives as usual. I had some other things to get done after the fuel line, and now its been raining all afternoon. I will get out tomorrow and run it around the property and see if she's good to go and post back to hopefully finish this thread off. No pics today, but I will try and remember to get some tomorrow. Thanks to everybody who weighed in on the topic. Your advice's are extremely helpful and a lot cheaper than the local JD service shop. Have a good evening and thanks once again

Jack
lenaitch and de-nagorg like this.
jackislost is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
green , john deere , need help , throttle cable


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting to HDTV - Quality Questions miamicuse Home Theater 45 06-24-2014 12:00 PM
A shovel accidentally hit an outside buried coax cable miamicuse Electrical 24 05-03-2014 03:30 PM
Locating Service Cable from Meter to Panel the_titan Electrical 5 02-28-2014 02:22 PM
Evaluating a kinked cable dave11 Electrical 5 05-09-2010 11:20 AM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts