Mower Spark Plug Cap - Tractors & Mowers - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care > Tractors & Mowers

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 11-17-2015, 09:46 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 3,044
Rewards Points: 714
Blog Entries: 18
Default

Mower spark plug cap


Was this a fluke or did I fix my spark plug in the mower by hitting it?

Mower would not start today. It didn't catch at all when I pulled the cord. I just had it in the shop to fix the gas tank and didn't want to spend more money.

Using pliers I pulled the rubber cap off the spark plug to see if it was still there. (It was). Then I tapped the cap back on firmly with the pliers. Lo and behold, the mower started on the first pull!

Does the rubber cap have anything to do with the mower starting?
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2015, 09:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,233
Rewards Points: 1,466
Default


The rubber cap isn't important but the metal connector inside the cap is very important. When pushing the cap back on we should feel the metal connector snap over the rounded end of the plug. Look and you will see.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SeniorSitizen For This Useful Post:
de-nagorg (11-17-2015), Startingover (11-17-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2015, 11:10 AM   #3
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 11,603
Rewards Points: 2,966
Default


The rubber is there to insulate the wire from shorting out in a damp environment.

And to keep hands and body parts from getting a hard electric shock.

Thousands of volts in this system, I forget exactly how many, but I do know that it will cause your arm to involuntarily jerk.

You might have seated the contacts, or a "fluke" as asked.

Be careful with hitting it hard as it is ceramic and will break.


ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to de-nagorg For This Useful Post:
Startingover (11-17-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2015, 11:15 AM   #4
Member
 
Rough Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 198
Rewards Points: 388
Default


Probably jarred the carbon loose that was shorting plug between electrodes allowing it to start.
Be a good idea to replace plug with a new one.

RR
Rough Rooster is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rough Rooster For This Useful Post:
Startingover (11-17-2015)
Old 11-17-2015, 05:53 PM   #5
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 8,546
Rewards Points: 1,170
Default


Ayuh,.... I'm goin' with Corrosion,.....
'tween the hi-tension lead, 'n the spark plug tower,...

By pullin' it off, 'n pushin' it back on, the metal to metal contact was restored, 'n the electrons could pass through,...

I've Looked at perfectly Clean electrical connections before, but hada take 'em apart, sand 'em to shiny metal Clean, 'n reassemble 'em to pass power proper like,...

More so with startin' circuits, but corrosion is corrosion, 'n it don't take much at All,...
Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bondo For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (11-17-2015), Startingover (11-18-2015)
Old 12-17-2015, 02:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 3,044
Rewards Points: 714
Blog Entries: 18
Default


My spark plug has me depressed.

Mower won't catch at all. I can't find size of spark plug or info in my manual. I went online and read Champion are good. Is there only one size for mowers?

There was a video. Is 13/16 the socket size? I guess Home Depot must sell them?

Last edited by Startingover; 12-17-2015 at 02:32 PM.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 03:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,194
Rewards Points: 5,348
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Startingover View Post
My spark plug has me depressed.

Mower won't catch at all. I can't find size of spark plug or info in my manual. I went online and read Champion are good. Is there only one size for mowers?

There was a video. Is 13/16 the socket size? I guess Home Depot must sell them?
There is a number on the spark plug.
There is more then one size.
You will need to gap the electrode(more then likely) You will need feeler gauges. You will need to know what the gap is.
Your manual should have the spark plug information. Look in the index. If not, check out the manufacturers website. You can also check out parts sellers for model numbers.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-17-2015)
Old 12-19-2015, 08:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 3,044
Rewards Points: 714
Blog Entries: 18
Default


Ok, I think I'm beginning to grasp this.

I'll go to a Toro shop and buy:

(1.) wire feeler gauge and spark plug.

THEN

according to directions: torque plug to 29 ft lb (27 N m)

First I need to find out what 'torque' means.

But I just had an idea. Why don't I buy the spark plug and ask them to torque it to the right size so I can just come home and screw it in?

The info was in my manual but I had sat a box of Miracle Grow on it which leaked and turned my manual a dark turquoise so I can barely read it.


Personally I think the directions for S.P. are sadly lacking. Way too brief on details.

Last edited by Startingover; 12-19-2015 at 08:42 AM.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 09:43 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,233
Rewards Points: 1,466
Default


There is no reason to purchase a new plug when it has not been determined the present plug does not have spark.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SeniorSitizen For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-19-2015)
Old 12-19-2015, 10:44 AM   #10
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 11,603
Rewards Points: 2,966
Default


Torque in this case is the amount of tightness you use when screwing it in.

So a salesman cannot do that in his store.

There are many other factors that are present to be checked as well.

Such as is there fuel present, controls set right, compression present, spark present, etc.

Sometimes a person has to admit that they cannot DIY and call in a pro.

I suspect that is the case here.

SORRY if I offend you, but that is what it takes occasionally.


ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to de-nagorg For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-19-2015)
Old 12-20-2015, 08:38 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 3,044
Rewards Points: 714
Blog Entries: 18
Default


Im only 98% ready to give up.

The repair shop was closed Saturday. I'll explain how my mower barely started once, now not at all, since they replaced the spark plug and see what they say, but I won't expect much.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 01:56 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 3,044
Rewards Points: 714
Blog Entries: 18
Default


Mower spark plug cap-image.jpeg


Aha! Bought these today at H.D.

Didn't buy spark plug cause they were for 2 or 4 cylinder engines and I don't know how many cylinders a mower is. Again, the labels were not helpful. They should have given examples such as 'for trimmers, or mowers, etc'.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 04:11 PM   #13
JUSTA MEMBER
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 11,603
Rewards Points: 2,966
Default


Kudos on getting the gap setting tool, Do you know that spark plugs come in 2 different size sockets?

The 5/8, that you have and a 13/16 size.

Your existing plug should have a brand and # printed in the porcelain around the upper part where the plug wire goes onto.

Find it and then you can get whichever plug it requires.

For your memory banks, most mowers are a single cylinder unit.


If Florida weren't so danged far away, I would drop by and help you with this in person, but the way is toooo far for a day trip.


ED
de-nagorg is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to de-nagorg For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-20-2015)
Old 12-20-2015, 04:38 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,233
Rewards Points: 1,466
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Startingover View Post
Attachment 227898


Aha! Bought these today at H.D.

Didn't buy spark plug cause they were for 2 or 4 cylinder engines and I don't know how many cylinders a mower is.
I'm suspecting you may have mis-read the label and it actually read 2 cycle or 4 cycle rather than 2 or 4 cylinder.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SeniorSitizen For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-20-2015)
Old 12-20-2015, 07:40 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 3,044
Rewards Points: 714
Blog Entries: 18
Default


De-nagorg, awww that was a sweet thought.

Senior, cylinder/cycle. Hmmmm, maybe the word was cycle. Ok, that saved me an embarrassing moment when I go to buy a SP tomorrow.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Startingover For This Useful Post:
de-nagorg (12-20-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propane Mower Conversion homerb Green Home Improvement 21 03-16-2016 04:42 PM
.020 rather than .030 spark plug gap? Toller Tractors & Mowers 3 10-24-2013 07:28 PM
Can I use a piece of wire to connect a grounding plug to an outlet? Smoked Electrical 9 10-14-2011 03:56 PM
Replacement plug for an old box freezer brich Electrical 1 05-11-2010 06:44 AM
fix my Lawn Mower Starter myself !!! KUIPORNG Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 06-28-2009 01:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts