Wedge, Sleeve, Or Another Type Of Anchor? - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree7Likes

Old 05-25-2018, 08:32 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Wedge, Sleeve, or another type of anchor?

I need to bolt down one of those metal Home Depot 10’x12’ gazebos on my patio. The patio is concrete that appears to average about 3.5” thick. I was thinking wedge anchors, but I’m second guessing them due to the thickness of the concrete. I don’t want to crack the concrete.

Now I’m thinking sleeve anchors because I could buy 4” sleeve anchors that would ...... should expand below the underside of the concrete and act almost like a toggle bolt.

This is my first time anchoring to concrete using something other than tapcons. Is there something other than a wedge or sleeve anchor I should be considering?

Other tips / suggestions would be much appreciated.

Also, wanted to say thanks for the years of help I’ve obtained from this site without being a member. I couldn’t find my answer this time so I figured it was about time to sign up and become a member.

Thanks in advance.
Jakerex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-25-2018, 08:49 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Rewards Points: 22,526

Re: Wedge, Sleeve, or another type of anchor?

We used concrete bolts to hold down racking in the warehouse. They should work for your shed.

Name:  PLSS_ConcreteBolt.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  27.0 KB
iamrfixit likes this.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-25-2018, 09:00 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 824

Large Diameter Tapcon.