Pouring A Concrete Slab - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-15-2015, 01:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 76

Pouring a concrete slab

I've done some smaller simple concrete work before but looking to do a 10x24 slab this spring for a shed. So I have some knowledge of concrete but never done anything this big where a simple hand trowel couldn't finish it. Have a couple of questions about the process and tools I need to buy. Forms I think I can handle, set level and stake. Will be using 2x6 for forms most likely. Bring in gravel for base and level and compact. Will run some rebar or mesh.

Now for the concrete. Will be getting a truck to deliver, I roughly figured 3 yards but when I actually form it up I will get a more accurate measurement. Will be wheelbarrowing the concrete so will have 3-4 guys to help me. so once the concrete is in the forms I plan to use a board run on the forms to level it out. This is where I'm not really sure on the steps to finish it right. Do I need a vibrator to go around by the edges to not have any voids? After you screed with a 2x4 or 2x6 board do you then use a bull float like this on a pole to smooth it out, http://www.menards.com/main/p-2366139-c-8954.htm? And a little hand magnesium trowel like this for the edges, http://www.menards.com/main/tools-ha...36-c-8954.htm? Do you run the bull float right away after your screed it level with a board?

Is a bull float a good enough of a finish or do I need something like a fresno trowel to go back over it and smooth it out better? When is the correct time to round over the edges? And when to use a groover to cut the control joints, http://www.menards.com/main/tools-ha...31-c-8954.htm? I think the broom finish will come last right?