How To: Concrete Ellipse - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By stadry

Old 06-01-2017, 01:38 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 12

How To: Concrete Ellipse

I'm looking to create an elliptical concrete sculpture similar to the one in the link below. I'm just getting into working with concrete for sculptural elements so I wanted to lean on the collective knowledge of you all before completely botching this project.

Some of the questions I have:
- What's the best method and material to create an elliptical mold?
- How might I suspend the glass bits in an evenly distributed way?
- What brand of white concrete do you recommend for a structure such as this?
citydweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2017, 01:50 AM   #2

Re: How To: Concrete Ellipse

Hmm, guess I'm too green to post links or images. I'll try to paint an image in your mind's eye... Picture an ellipse that's 24"(W)x18"(H)x12"(D). Thickness of the ellipse is approximately 1-1/2". Material is a white concrete with flecks of recycled glass.

Google "concrete exchange newbold bird feeder" if you'd like to see an image of the concept I'm referring to.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2017, 07:39 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,742

i'm not aware of the various white cements however both cheng & buddy rhodes sell products to the public,,, 'cement-all' MAY be available at your local apron /vest store,,, you could also try sher-wms - they own d & c & have duo-top mtls avail

building the form ? get 2 cylinders - big deal

most here aren't into aesthetic conc,,, we're mostly belt & suspenders guys who don't wear berets & probably carry hawks more often than palettes
Bud9051 likes this.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement