Help With Concrete Forms.. Need Verification - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree12Likes
  • 1 Post By joed
  • 2 Post By de-nagorg
  • 2 Post By MTN REMODEL LLC
  • 1 Post By Shopguy
  • 1 Post By Shopguy
  • 2 Post By jlhaslip
  • 1 Post By Shopguy
  • 1 Post By joed
  • 1 Post By de-nagorg

Old 06-03-2017, 08:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 132

Help with Concrete Forms.. Need verification

Hi folks,
I have to pour 10 concrete piers that extend above the ground at various heights from 10 inches to 45 inches and extend below the ground 60 inches.

To save some money, I decided to make the below ground forms out of some 55 gallon drums with the tops and bottoms cut out and the cut edges smoothed and hammered down.

I'm lacking confidence as I'm not very experienced with concrete and have only ever poured slabs.

Using a backhoe, we dug out trenches to depth and "hung" the forms with 2x4s so we could shim them and make them straight and level.

I'm pretty much following jlhaslip's advice on this part the best I can.
The top of the 55 gallon drum has a 2x4 frame built around it and secured with drywall screws. (8 screws total, 2 on each side, screw heads are inside drum but quite flush) Here's a picture of them in the ground after we backfilled:
Note: The top lip of the drum is flush and even with the top of the 2x4's.

Next, I cut out some 1/2 inch OSB board to fit the 2x4 frame on the drums and cut a hole in the OSB so that the sonotube fits through the hole and would be flush with the bottom of the OSB.
Picture of OSB attached to Sonotube with drywall screws. The wood blocks are screwed to the OSB with decking screws. (2 each)