Concrete Piers - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 10-15-2014, 04:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 431
Rewards Points: 528
Default

concrete piers


When pouring concrete piers in the tubes for a deck ,i will build on top later, do the tubes need to go all the way to bottom of holes where the drainage rock is ? .Also what is the depth for holes -is in TN.Its a 24 by 12 ft deck.and piers will be about 3-4 inches above ground . im using the 8 inch wide tubes.Also will i need reinforcement at all?
Any other tips are appreciated.

Last edited by hidden1; 10-15-2014 at 04:09 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2014, 04:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 4,070
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default


No they only need to be the height you want above grade, and the frost line in Tennessee is 18/20 inches.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Canarywood1 For This Useful Post:
RockyMtnBlue (10-15-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-15-2014, 04:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 38
Default




I used 12" tubes without reinforcing steel. Not testifying to "correctness", just saying that's what I did.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
RockyMtnBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2014, 09:26 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 4,070
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default


You didn't need rebar!!
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 01:29 PM   #5
Member
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074
Posts: 4,113
Rewards Points: 2,716
Default


You just need good soil to pour the concrete on. Rock is not needed since concrete does not rot and is poured on saturated soils or under water every day. Most of the rock eventually get pushed into the soil at the base.

The larger the diameter of the Sonotube, the better for use on poorer soils. Rebar is not needed, but can be used for a warm and "fuzzy"satisfaction.

Dick
concretemasonry is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to concretemasonry For This Useful Post:
RockyMtnBlue (10-25-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concrete Deck Repair (BIG JOB) vector006 Concrete, Stone & Masonry 25 10-12-2013 06:07 PM
Concrete Sealer For Home Patio & Sidewalk JasonCA Concrete, Stone & Masonry 1 01-22-2013 02:28 AM
Creating a flat floor on an angled concrete floor? Magno Building & Construction 1 04-14-2011 05:42 AM
how to fill the gaps between concrete blocks? micapavlov Building & Construction 4 01-03-2010 04:53 PM
Reinforce concrete piers? Neil_K Building & Construction 8 11-21-2004 06:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts