Advice For Setting Ip Slab Of Concrete - Concrete, Stone & Masonry - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Concrete, Stone & Masonry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 04-09-2019, 08:15 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Hello i did try and get that measured but i couldn't get to it as it was pouring out but i could tell u that the dirt that is under the bump out it is all uneven. So for me to even try and get a mesurement then to strick a line i think it would be off.and to see if it is going away from house. So my best bet would be to a
Flatten the dirt i have there get it all level and add about 1 inch to 2 inch more of dirt to bring the slab to 3 inch not all 5 inch of cement. I just look at the old slab and im like i keep thinking that in order for me to get the slope to run off that hight the back end of it would have to be raised up to like 6 or 7 inch correct me if im wrong. Also can i lay a full level slab first to get it to match the old slab let it dry then come back and add a lil slope on top of the finished slab so the run off is still going away from house.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
chris3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-09-2019, 08:49 PM   #17
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 22,010
Rewards Points: 11,906
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris3178 View Post
Hello i did try and get that measured but i couldn't get to it as it was pouring out but i could tell u that the dirt that is under the bump out it is all uneven. So for me to even try and get a mesurement then to strick a line i think it would be off.and to see if it is going away from house. So my best bet would be to a
Flatten the dirt i have there get it all level and add about 1 inch to 2 inch more of dirt to bring the slab to 3 inch not all 5 inch of cement. I just look at the old slab and im like i keep thinking that in order for me to get the slope to run off that hight the back end of it would have to be raised up to like 6 or 7 inch correct me if im wrong. Also can i lay a full level slab first to get it to match the old slab let it dry then come back and add a lil slope on top of the finished slab so the run off is still going away from house.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
You are putting line on the wall level with the concrete on the right,
That is above the dirt by about 5 inches. Then you will check if there is a slope with one end of the level sitting on that line and on the concrete on the end of the patio.

No dirt involved. Is the concrete patio higher or lower than the line?
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2019, 06:15 AM   #18
Property Mgt/Maint
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 5,287
Rewards Points: 6,070
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris3178 View Post
Also can i lay a full level slab first to get it to match the old slab let it dry then come back and add a lil slope on top of the finished slab so the run off is still going away from house.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk

Bad idea.
You want full depth, all done in a single pour.

Your slab should have about 2 -3" min of crushed stone under it, compacted. Don't use top soil to back fill, Use stone. The new top of slab height will be controlled by your forms. So it is important to get them right prior to pour day. I would also put some rebar mesh in there, and also use expansion joint mat'l along the house wall and also to separate your existing concrete.
landfillwizard likes this.
__________________
[political signature removed]

Last edited by Yodaman; 04-10-2019 at 06:17 AM.
Yodaman is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2019, 06:39 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


I will get a line stricked tomorrow then level it to see if it grades away from house

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
Nealtw likes this.
chris3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 03:24 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nealtw View Post
You are putting line on the wall level with the concrete on the right,
That is above the dirt by about 5 inches. Then you will check if there is a slope with one end of the level sitting on that line and on the concrete on the end of the patio.

No dirt involved. Is the concrete patio higher or lower than the line?
Hello finely got to do my line level. Here is a pic of it. The bubble is sloped towards my foundation a lil so i have to grade it the other way.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk

Last edited by chris3178; 04-13-2019 at 03:29 PM.
chris3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 03:31 PM   #21
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 22,010
Rewards Points: 11,906
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris3178 View Post
Hello finely got to do my line level. Here is a pic of it. It looks like it is on the level side.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
So that is above the level line on the wall and above the deck? yes.


That is not level pick up one end until the bubble is right dead centre between the two lines, that buddy, is the slope we wanted.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 03:49 PM   #22
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 22,010
Rewards Points: 11,906
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Something like this.
Attached Thumbnails
Advice for setting ip slab of concrete-deck-forms.jpg  
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 04:28 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Ok if i raise the end that is on the cement it will be level. So is i thought i wanted it sloped away from house alil not level.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
chris3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 04:47 PM   #24
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 22,010
Rewards Points: 11,906
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris3178 View Post
Ok if i raise the end that is on the cement it will be level. So is i thought i wanted it sloped away from house alil not level.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
You held the level showing the slope. It is not level until the bubble is dead centre, so if you do that again and pick up the end until the bubble is in the middle, you will be more than 1/4" under that end of the level and that is lots for what you have.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 05:08 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 5,834
Rewards Points: 1,952
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


why ANY wire in an exterior 4" think piece of conc ? that's not in any recommended spec i've ever seen,,, to add any benefit, it must be set @ the vert plane midpoint & allowable +/- is 2%,,, that = .1",,, no one's that good - i see proof of that every day,,, if only 1/2 of these conc jabonies knew what & why, we'd have MUCH less work,,, come to think of it, suppose we should buy 'em beer
as posted by the op, this job's only 65b @ 80# conc - easy enough for 1 guy to do - 3 saturdays & still have time for been
the line level looks fine on 4'6' as he wants wtr to run AWAY from his home, right ?
Nealtw likes this.

Last edited by stadry; 04-13-2019 at 05:14 PM.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 05:26 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Hello stadry that is correct i want to slope away from house. I am on here just trying to get it right thats all i want i know i am capable of doing this job just the want to get it right so i dont have any problems

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
chris3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 05:43 PM   #27
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 22,010
Rewards Points: 11,906
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2019, 06:01 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 5,834
Rewards Points: 1,952
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


somebody tell him that's not wtr inside the vial or carpenters would never work when its below 32f
Nealtw likes this.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 04:39 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: atl & hilton head
Posts: 5,834
Rewards Points: 1,952
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


so far all we've talked about is stripping sod, string line, forming, mesh ( or not ), & using a level but nothing about wtr/cement ratio, mixing, placing, & finishing which's where the real $$ are found
tell you what i'd do - i'd get all this other stuff done even place forms / into 3rds,,, then i'd go to my local south-of-the-border job ctr & hire a conc finisher,,, there's no shame in learning from a pro,,, that's where i learned most of my stuff,,, if you've f'd up somehow, he can fix it
if you're lucky enough to live in a sanctuary city, county, or state, it won't cost as much as if you didn't because there'll be a much larger inventory from which to choose help( couldn't he'p that last part )
landfillwizard likes this.
stadry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 09:34 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Re: Advice for setting ip slab of concrete


Hopefully i will get my framing set up and i will post pics of how it looks.im gonna use 1x4.

Sent from my LGLS676 using Tapatalk
Yodaman likes this.
chris3178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resurfacing & Extending Backyard Concrete Slab WharfRat Concrete, Stone & Masonry 1 06-18-2016 09:34 PM
Concrete Basics for the DIYer Mort Concrete, Stone & Masonry 7 11-22-2012 11:19 AM
Cement backer board over kitchen concrete slab gtimk4 Flooring 2 02-19-2012 02:46 PM
Extending Concrete Patio Slab bobo Building & Construction 6 04-17-2008 12:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts