Venting And Insulating Ceiling With Rigid Foam - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Nealtw

Old 02-16-2019, 12:08 PM   #1
pmp

Rewards Points: 32

venting and insulating ceiling with rigid foam

Good morning!

Writing to you from Vancouver, Canada, which I understand to be climate zone 4.

I've gutted my second floor bathroom. We're going to have the ceiling follow the roof deck (ie, the other side of this sloped ceiling is the roof). The rafters are a meagre 3.5 or 4 inches.

I am studying different ways to insulate the ceiling, and am thinking I'll use rigid foam to maximize the R-value, given the little room I have to work with.

Currently, the house has a ridge vent, but no soffit vents. I may install soffit vents in future, so I suppose I need to provide an air space between the ceiling insulation and the underside of the roof deck.

In the interest of providing as much insulation as possible, I thought -- rather than using insulation baffles (aka, rafter vents) AND insulation -- I will instead combine them into one by, first, gluing spacers made of rigid insulation to the underside of the roof deck, and then gluing rigid foam against these spacers and between the rafters. I would use Loctite PL300 as the glue. I would use spray foam (e.g., Great Stuff) to seal between the rigid foam and the rafters. Then I would install rigid foam against the underside of the rafters, as a continuous sheet, and then drywall against that (ie, there would be a continuous sheet of rigid foam between the rafters and the drywall).

Is that an ok idea? If not, where am I going wrong?

So to summarize, from roof to interior room:

1. Underside of roof
2. Spacers, made of rigid foam, glued to the roof's underside
3. Rigid foam board, cut to fit between rafters, sealed with spray foam