Unfinished Basement/crawl-space Insulation - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Fix'n it

Old 08-31-2020, 09:18 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 8
Question

Unfinished basement/crawl-space insulation

I have an old house basement that is half crawl-space and the other half is an unfinished basement with stone walls.
I have the furnace in the basement, so that actually it never gets cold in there during the winter

I want to replace the existing 'ceiling' insulation that was poorly installed in the first place and by now it is in a pretty bad shape

What would be the best type of insulation to use? with one side vapor barrier? Or 2 side? or No vapor barrier?

If using insulation with vapor barrier, which way would the vapor barrier go?

(I am not a pro home builder but did quite a few projects on my house. No insulation projects just yet. This would be the first one of this kind)

Thanx 2 your answer!
sylvesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2020, 09:41 AM   #2
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 826

Re: Unfinished basement/crawl-space insulation

How is the crawlspace in terms of moisture? You have two options, insulate the crawl stem wall and treat it as a "conditioned space" or re-insulate the ceiling (foam board works well there).
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2020, 07:44 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 108

if the basement is heated, why would you want the ceiling insulated ? you want a big difference ? insulate the walls.
Missouri Bound and Bud9051 like this.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2020, 07:54 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post