Re-insulating Attic - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-08-2015, 10:15 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 92

Re-insulating Attic

Planning on blowing cellulose insulation into the attic this weekend and had a few questions before getting started. We purchased the house in June, this being our first house, I'm still learning a few things. House was built in 1956, single story ranch, 1285sq ft, brick outside with framed walls on 16" centers with 16" rafters, hip roof design, attic is unconditioned space and not livable. 2x6 wall and rafters. Sheetrock on the walls and ceiling (this one surprised me).

1. I'm not seeing a vapor barrier below the current insulation, should I be putting one down before blowing cellulose?

2. The current insulation looks original and has 0 fluff to it, I'm not even sure it is insulation. When installing our ceiling fan into the living room that previously had no light fixture at all, I had to cut through it, but as I was touching it, it was crumbling apart. It has a reflective shell on both sides of it, and some type of fibers between that. I have attached a small picture from our inspection report, as it is all I have at the moment. In the picture it does not look shiny, its just covered in dirt/dust. Any idea what this stuff is if its not insulation? Is it safe to blow over this?

Name:  attic.jpg
Views: 1534
Size:  8.3 KB

3. I will be air sealing the attic before blowing the insulation and installing soffit baffles along the roof. Do these baffles only need to be placed where the soffit vents are located, or in every ceiling bay? We do not have a continuous soffit vent, only vents in a few locations with the roof mounted vents on the back and side of the house.