New Home. Attic Ventilation Question. - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 05-13-2015, 07:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 18
Default

New home. Attic ventilation question.


Hey guys! Hoping someone will be able to help with a better prospective than I would have.

I just moved in a new home in December (Ohio). The house got a new roof in 2012 so the soffits are great (lots of visible daylight) and the ridge vents are new and look good (wide and even).

There is a thermostat controlled fan in the middle of the attic. I noticed it turns on pretty early (around 10am) so Im guessing they have the temp set fairly low.

This fan DOES NOT vent outside at all. It basically just moves air around in the attic. It pushes the air horizontally. Its loud enough to hear it when the house is quiet and Im on the second floor.

My questions are, since this fan is not venting outside is it even worth running because of adding to the electricity bill? This is my first time owning a 2 story home, so upstairs heat is something Im not as familiar with. Is an attic fan necessary at all? If this one is pointless, should I look into installing one that actually vents outside, or am I ok with just soffit to ridge vent air flow?

Thanks in advance guys!
ryanatw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2015, 07:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 37,138
Rewards Points: 1,916
Default


Should be no need for it, post a picture so we can see what your seeing.
Would be interesting to know what there line of reasoning was for even having it.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2015, 07:58 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 18
Default


Will do when I get home this evening.
ryanatw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-13-2015, 08:45 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 18
Default


Here is a picture that I found on my phone. This was just a quick picture of the attic to show someone how much insulation was in there. Not the best view of the fan, but you can at least get an idea on the placement.

ryanatw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2015, 10:25 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,366
Rewards Points: 129
Default


Disable it. Moving got air around does nothing except rack up your electric bill.
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 07:44 AM   #6
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 26,108
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 41
Default


Whats the venting on the attic like? Might be an older gable end fan.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 08:05 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 18
Default


The roof had a tear off and redo in 2012 after hail damage from a major storm. The ridge vent runs along the whole length of the roof and is wide and unblocked. The soffit vents are not sectioned but are the ones that run the whole length of the house as well with plenty of visible daylight for proof of a clear path.

To me I dont see a reason for the fan and havent found any examples of moving air around in the attic as any type of resolution.

Like you said maybe it formerly had gable vents and they retained the fan?...

My main questions is should I even have that thing running and draining my electricity bill? Doesnt sound like it...
ryanatw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 08:37 AM   #8
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 26,108
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 41
Default


Based on the venting you described there's absolutely no need for it. Either turn it off or unhook it from the box and properly cap the wires.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you ready for SNOW & ICE ? Roofmaster417 Roofing/Siding 15 10-09-2011 09:25 AM
Attic ventilation question tpagel Building & Construction 9 02-10-2009 05:38 AM
attic ventilation chutes question MadisonMan Building & Construction 1 11-20-2008 10:52 PM
Powered Attic Fan question spup345 Roofing/Siding 9 06-30-2008 08:10 PM
Attic ventilation question tpagel Building & Construction 4 04-15-2008 12:22 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts