Insulation Breathing - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By Nealtw
  • 1 Post By fireguy
  • 1 Post By NotyeruncleBob

Old 10-29-2017, 12:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 8

Insulation breathing

Hey first time here. Forgive me if i placed this in wrong area this was the only active forums where I thought I could get an answer.

Anyway I recently placed my computer in the basement where we have a excess insulation sitting in. The basement is pretty big... thing is I didnt know that breathing in or near insulation is bad for you (I have no knowledge of those feilds). So for the last month I've been stupidly doing computer work down there for a few hours a day... the insulation sits about 20 feet away from where my pc was (I've obviously moved now) how screwed am I? I have no symptoms of anything but I've read how it can stick to your lungs and cause cancer and show no symptoms for 10-30years. Most days I probs spent just over an hour in there. In weekends would be more.

Should I be worried? I feel fine but now I'm paranoid. I wish they taught this sort of stuff in school.
Deathstroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2017, 12:07 AM   #2
retired framer

Rewards Points: 838

Re: Insulation breathing

You read to many scary books.
If you are not touching and causing any dust from it to get in the air it is fine.
Bondo and Bud9051 like this.
Nealtw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2017, 12:08 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 708

Would only be an issue if the insulation was being disturbed or moved.

Can you see the dust particles moving around in the air? If so, you need to get to the Dr and get a chest x-ray, maybe.

Can the insulation be covered with poly? That would minimize the particulates.
Sponsored Links