High Electric Bills, Need To Insulate - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 08-29-2015, 02:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 18
Default

High electric bills, need to insulate


Hi to all, first time posting but i've been doing a lot of reading on this board trying to learn. i need some help with insulation in my house, it's a single level built in 1967 with brand new HVAC system but my last power bill was 500.00 and i need to do something. i'm attaching picture of my attic, no it is not vented in anyway. any advice would be helpfull, not sure of what more info you need but i'll answer anything i can.


R,
Trevor
Attached Thumbnails
High electric bills, need to insulate-img_20150829_095618782.jpg   High electric bills, need to insulate-img_20150829_095631550.jpg   High electric bills, need to insulate-img_20150829_095658342.jpg   High electric bills, need to insulate-img_20150829_095706146.jpg  
da_offroadnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2015, 04:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,194
Rewards Points: 5,348
Default


How expensive is electricity in San Diego?
What do you set the A/C at?
Do you use the whole house fan?
How long have you owned the house?
Temps in San Diego have been in the upper 70's with about 10 days in the 80's this month.
Is the dryer electric?
Venting the attic will help as well as proper insulation.
Is that white vent hose from the bathroom/kitchen. That should be vented to the exterior.
__________________
Ron
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
B. Franklin 1759
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ron6519 For This Useful Post:
craig11152 (08-29-2015), Hick (08-29-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2015, 04:34 PM   #3
Member
 
craig11152's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Ann Arbor MI
Posts: 1,991
Rewards Points: 1,220
Default


I assume a chunk of that 500 bucks was running AC?

besides reducing the bill do they have averaged year around payment plans?
I'm in Michigan where winter heat is the bigger issue. I pay the same amount every month year around for my gas. Once a year I square up and then get a new rate depending on my use. In your case you could mitigate the big summer bills by paying more in the winter.
__________________
Don't look at me. I didn't vote for either one of them.
craig11152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2015, 04:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 373
Rewards Points: 750
Default


Is the stove electric?
Do you leave the lights on? are those lights incandescent/florescent/led?
Size of TV/usage?
What eles zapps your electricity?
What was average electrical bill before you installed hvac?

As ron mentioned, all those questions need to be answered/addressed.

Best/quickest solution I see is blown-in insulation.
Hick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 05:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 9,243
Rewards Points: 68
Default


Quote:
Temps in San Diego have been in the upper 70's with about 10 days in the 80's this month.
The temps given on most sites are taken fairly close to the harbor/ocean. If you are in eastern San Diego they can be 15-20 degrees higher.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 11:31 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 18
Default


I've owned the house for a few years, temps passed month have been mid to high 90's with the occasional hit above 100. I set the temp to 78 but today the house was 84 inside. Everything is electric except for water heater and furnace. I have all florescent lights, been slowly swapping them to LEDs. We don't keep much lights on in the house, the whole house fan is disconnected, had to because I need space in the breaker panel for the ac unit. The white duct is for one bathroom vent which I'm fixing as soon as it cools down a little. I want to switch to a gas dryer but I have no room in my panel for a new circuit to run it, the gas line is there though. Can I run the dryer and washer on the same 20 amp circuit?
da_offroadnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2015, 11:43 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 39,277
Rewards Points: 122
Default


You remove the current breaker for the dryer. And then you will have 2 spaces open. And can use one of them for the gas dryer.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
craig11152 (08-30-2015)
Old 08-30-2015, 07:05 AM   #8
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 26,072
Rewards Points: 944
Blog Entries: 41
Default


$500 in San Diego is a bit crazy with the mildness of weather.

http://www.climate-zone.com/climate/...nia/san-diego/

http://apps1.eere.energy.gov/buildin...ing_report.pdf
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:22 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Posts: 676
Rewards Points: 877
Default


If it was my house I would start with two things. Improve attic venting and add blown in insulation which you can do yourself. I would research attic venting options looking at soffit vents, depending on roof type possibly a ridge vent. You can rent equipment from Lowes, HD to blow in insulation and get advice on how to do it.
ddsrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 09:09 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 18
Default


i'm looking at different options if i remove the electric dryer and go gas, unfortunately if i do i do not get to free up the circuit, i use it for my plasma cutter with my air compressor on the other 30 amp circuit and well the way it is wired ill need a new post in the electric fofum here.. the biggest thing i know is attic venting and better insulation. the attic is not not vented, soffits have no venting, the outside walls a stucco so i'm trying to figure out what to use for soffit vents as my soffits do not look like any house i've seen.
da_offroadnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 06:53 PM   #11
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 9,243
Rewards Points: 68
Default


You have that gable end vent and fan. Are you saying there is no gable vent at the other end?
Makes you wonder what they were thinking ?

Hope you aren't running it. Right now it would be pulling your conditioned air up thru the bathroom vent and any other leak spots.

Last edited by Oso954; 08-30-2015 at 06:59 PM.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Bill Way Too High, Corrupt Electric Co HELP! RStephen Electrical 18 02-26-2013 01:09 PM
outrageous electric bills creeper Off Topic 1 03-16-2012 09:21 PM
Electric Baseboard Heater Questions mark2741 HVAC 0 12-31-2010 12:08 PM
90 amp electric car charger! The future... Billy_Bob Electrical 16 02-16-2010 02:01 PM
electric usage rocksaranac Electrical 6 08-12-2009 12:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts