Cantilever Overhang Insulation - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-14-2015, 07:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 14

Cantilever Overhang Insulation

I have read many of the threads on here regarding insulating this area of the home. I am just getting started and wanted some expert advice.

I have ~18 inch overhang on the back of the house over the foundation. Prior to doing anything there was always a cold draft and a draft upstairs under the cabinets in the kitchen that lie above it.

The previous insulation was just fiberglass faced insulation batts that were stuffed haphazard, see the photos. Once these were removed there was a direct communication to the outside through 3-5 mm gaps between the 2x4s. on the "floor" of the cantilevered portion.

So in the space, I placed R 7.5 or 1.5 inch that i glued down to the "floor" of the cantilevered space. I also used great stuff gap and crack sealer to fill the gaps between the 2x4s from the outside (I am sort of limited as it is ~10-20 degrees here during the day.

There is a noticeable decrease in the amount of air through this area but not perfect.

My questions:
1) Is rigid foam an adequate "air barrier" or do I need to consider adding some sort of house wrap from the outside?

2) What R value batt would you use above the rigid foam board I've installed?

3) after placing fiberglass batts, would you still seal off the cantilevered portion with another vertical piece of rigid foam?

Thanks in advance.

Cantilever Overhang Insulation-img_0193.jpg

Cantilever Overhang Insulation-img_0195.jpg

Cantilever Overhang Insulation-img_0196.jpg
theparamount is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-15-2015, 04:17 PM   #2
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 926

Rigid foam is plenty air barrier when sealed.