Basic Wall Insulation In Basements - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-10-2015, 09:28 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
Unhappy

Basic Wall insulation in basements

Good morning everyone,

I hope you guys can help me because I've been looking for this answers for quite long time and amazingly I'm not able to find a direct answer.

I'm from Brazil, but I'm leaving in US- Michigan, Thermal zone 4 &5, now and we decided to finish our basement. I'm working with a contractor who framed my walls, did the electric part and gave me the tip to do the insulation myself in order to save some costs.

And that's the issue I'm having right now, when I started studying about the topic I realized that the majority of the good experts recommend to use a foam closed cell board direct in my concrete wall, before the frame stage. In order to stop the humidity to move towards the dry wall.

I talked about that to the contractor and, off course he start shouting saying that my basement is very dry, but I know, and we don't need to be an expert, that the dryness of my basement is coming from the fact that moisture is been evaporated to the ambient giving such an impression. However my basement has never had any issues with water so far.

So my question would be, what should I do to have the best possible solution in my basement? My studs are ~1in distance from the concrete wall without any vapor barrier or insulation applied yet between them. My contractor told me that using fiber glass between the studs I would be just fine, but I'm afraid of mold and rottenness in a mid long term. I saw that I could use sprayed foam, but is this really the only way?

Please help to figure it out how to proceed. I can't find a reasonable solution in the internet. showing risks and costs related aspects.

Kind Regards