Basement Pipe Condensation - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-21-2013, 11:40 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Basement pipe condensation

Hello,
I'm not sure if this is the right section to post this in but I have some condensation on a large drainage pipe in my basement. The pipe comes into my basement from a gutter outside. My basement is warmer right now than the cold air and rain outside. Will pipe insulation fix something like this? And do they make pipe insulation for pipes this size? (About 3-4 inches in diameter.) I'm not very experienced with this stuff, but I try.
kwickett85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-21-2013, 11:52 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 6,652

Simple law of physics. You could wrap it in the insulation, that they use for the large boiler stem pipes that are that sizeif you want to.

Now of course the million dollar question is, why is your downspouts draining I to the house, possibly in to the public sewer or septic if your are not on public sewer.

Downspouts need to drain out into the yard, not in to your septic, sewer or sump well.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
audrycampbell (12-27-2013), joecaption (12-22-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-22-2013, 10:26 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Simple law of physics. You could wrap it in the insulation, that they use for the large boiler stem pipes that are that sizeif you want to.

Now of course the million dollar question is, why is your downspouts draining I to the house, possibly in to the public sewer or septic if your are not on public sewer.

Downspouts need to drain out into the yard, not in to your septic, sewer or sump well.