Attic Pitch And Floor Insulation Question - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By SPS-1

Old 09-03-2020, 09:49 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4

attic pitch and floor insulation question

I can't find any info on this, but live in arizona and my roof gets 140-190 degrees in the summer. I have a stick frame 45 degree pitched roof about 10 inches of blown insulation on the floor. Built in 1999, 5 static roof vents, 3 gables 2 on house and 1 on attached garage. I know i need to add a good amount of blown insulation, but i have a lot of remodeling to do. Electrical and low voltage ect. I don't want to blow in all that new insulation and then have to dig through it to find wires and i don't want to smash it all down. So i was looking into getting some 2 inch Thermasheath Rmax closed cell foam panels up against the inside of the attic roof to keep that radiating heat from getting through into my attic. I have heard mixed info on this and can't get a clear answer. As everyone thinks i want to seal off the attic; I don't. But then some one said you can't have both floor insulation and inside roof pitch insulation as it will create " a moisture barrier" even though my attic is vented. I live in almost 0% humidity 95% of the year. I have an AC-Gas-Pack system on the roof and soft tube duct work in the attic. it was 146 degrees in my attic. My roof is south facing.

So would this be a good or bad idea as a temp solution and then eventually once i put more blow in insulation would i need to remove those panels or can i even do this. I would still leave it a vented attic.

Thanks for any info . insight you might have. Cheers!
tallywho is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-03-2020, 10:28 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 326

Re: attic pitch and floor insulation question