Adding R-19 To Existing Rock Wool - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Display Modes
Old 10-04-2015, 10:52 AM   #1
joezapp
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 66
Default

Adding R-19 to existing rock wool


Hi. I was about to start my fall project Saturday, which is to scoop up the existing rock wool on my attic floor in order to lay down R-19 batts that have a vapor barrier. I would then be putting the rock wool back on top of the fiberglass batts, creating a nice high R. This was going to be a fairly straightforward project.

I then realized that maybe it's not. There's bound to be some dust under the rock wool. Maybe a little, and maybe a lot. It's been there a long time. I'm now thinking that the attic floor must be free of ALL dust before I lay the vapor retardant batts down over it. This, of course, would make this job more tedious.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks so much.
joezapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2015, 11:06 AM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 26,086
Rewards Points: 972
Blog Entries: 41
Default


What is the dust?

Why not just blow loose fill? Its about a million times easier and you tend to get more even coverage.

Look up any number of the threads on air sealing first. I would highly recommend you do that in conjunction with the re-insulation project.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2015, 01:39 PM   #3
joezapp
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: NJ
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 66
Default


Hi. Thanks for the comments.

I would anticipate some dust from rock wool breakdown. But it's possible, I suppose, that there won't be any dust at all.

As far as blowing loose fill, I had every intention of re-using the rock wool. I just wanted to add some more insulation, and insulation with a vapor barrier...even though the vapor barrier was probably not required in my case.

Yes, I have now seen consistently all over the web that air sealing is the most important part of the re-insulation job. I had no idea! I will definitely do this. I will need to educate myself on what to look for and what to use to seal. Thank you!
joezapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Light to Existing Circuit NEWJACK Electrical 2 05-11-2012 12:09 PM
Adding a second line to existing septic line Eddietan Plumbing 3 05-10-2012 09:27 AM
Adding New circuit from existing eric0507 Electrical 2 04-28-2012 08:25 PM
Adding 2 more lights to existing light BCH_COLIN Electrical 7 01-24-2011 11:04 AM
adding on to an existing detached garage ebstein Building & Construction 4 09-24-2009 10:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts