Adding Insulation Baffles To Existing Cathedral Ceilings - Insulation - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Insulation

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-12-2015, 10:36 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 42

Adding insulation baffles to existing cathedral ceilings

My attic gets HOT and I noticed there is no ventilation on the whole back wall of the house which is a cathedral ceiling about 5 feet long on 6 inch rafters with about 24 inch spacing. (Sorry if some of my terminology is wrong. I'm new to this.)

The original builders just put insulation bats in and then drywalled over them. There are soffit vents at about every 5 rafters, but the insulation fills in the whole gap so I don't think it can breathe properly. There is no light visible in these rafter channels. Using a 6 foot long 1x4, I was able to guide a baffle almost all the way down. But it was very frustrating fighting the baffle between the bats and the roofing nails with inches of clearance above my head, and I have like 20 more to go.

Does anyone have any tips on how to "fish" the plastic baffles between the insulation and the roof nails, preferable from above so I don't have to cut a soffit hole to reach in at every rafter channel?
omgdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-12-2015, 11:53 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 318

Frost under roof ... why now?

If you haven't read that post you may want to before proceeding with your nearly impossible endeavor.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SeniorSitizen For This Useful Post:
Windows on Wash (02-13-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-13-2015, 06:00 AM   #3
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 906

There is no easy way and venting should be in each and every rafter bay.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement