Hydroseed Ready Or Needs More Work? - Gardening Forum - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care > Gardening Forum

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By SeniorSitizen
  • 1 Post By Canarywood1
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-29-2016, 12:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Hydroseed ready or needs more work?


We moved into our new construction home this past January. Our site contractor just finished spreading the topsoil that they stripped and stockpiled previously from the site. The topsoil was not screened, he tracked over the entire yard with the excavator to compact it, and we were told that we are ready for planting grass.

Our plan is to hydroseed end of August or beginning of September. The site guy said we're good to go and the roots/sticks are no problem since he tracked over with the excavator. A hydroseeder that gave us a quote said we need to harley rake the entire area and pickup all sticks/roots. In my mind using a harley rake will undo a lot of what the site guy did, and will cost even more money.

We're not looking for the perfect best green lawn in the town, we're looking for grass that can soak up the rain and so our kids can play in the yard.

What do you guys/gals think? Do we need to do more work? Thanks for any help you can provide!
Attached Thumbnails
Hydroseed ready or needs more work?-image_1469811958365.jpeg   Hydroseed ready or needs more work?-image_1469811980754.jpeg   Hydroseed ready or needs more work?-image_1469812003686.jpeg  
LandG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2016, 01:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,296
Rewards Points: 1,592
Default

Re: Hydroseed ready or needs more work?


If you want the hydroseeder to warranty his work and have any chance of a full stand of grass you'll forget what the contractor said and let the seeder prepare the soil and seed.
DrHicks likes this.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2016, 10:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upper mid-west
Posts: 2,843
Rewards Points: 4,170
Default

Re: Hydroseed ready or needs more work?


You have had a rough grade performed. Now you need to do a final grade and then you can seed.
stick\shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2016, 12:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 4,070
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default

Re: Hydroseed ready or needs more work?


If you want a decent stand of grass you need to have the Harley rake do it's thing, just a waste of time hydro seeding what you have now, look's to be compacted to the extent the seeding would just run off in a good rain.
47_47 likes this.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2016, 10:39 AM   #5
A Little Of Everything
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 2,369
Rewards Points: 1,418
Default

Re: Hydroseed ready or needs more work?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SeniorSitizen View Post
If you want the hydroseeder to warranty his work and have any chance of a full stand of grass you'll forget what the contractor said and let the seeder prepare the soil and seed.
^ This.

Your site contractor is full of crap. He did a decent job of site leveling, but he not leave the yard ready for seeding.
DrHicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2016, 07:39 PM   #6
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 2,464
Wink

Re: Hydroseed ready or needs more work?


You need to get all those sticks and crap out of there. A Harley rake or rock hound would do the job and they only loosen the soil up 2-3" deep. Grass will have a better chance of growing in the freshly raked soil. It'll firm up soon enough. I wouldn't waste any money on seeding until your yard is cleaned up. Do it right the first time.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grounding the workpiece you're welding jarnold Electrical 43 01-03-2016 07:14 PM
Ceiling fan light doesnt work verpear Electrical 6 04-09-2013 07:44 AM
work schedule redman88 Off Topic 16 03-28-2013 07:50 PM
Pulling permits -- getting caught on previous UN-permitted work and effect on taxes jpfulton248 General DIY Discussions 11 01-22-2013 03:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts