Can I Lay A Thin Strip Using Sod? - Gardening Forum - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Landscaping & Lawn Care > Gardening Forum

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By SPS-1
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 07-27-2019, 05:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


All around my lawn the edges have gotten too wide (for a variety of reasons I wonít bore you with.) So my goal is to add about 2 inches of grass to almost the entire edging of my lawn. The question is how? I am debating seeding vs. sod.

I can easily get a few rolls of sod and cut 2-inch strips to fix the problem but itís been suggested that sod be cut no smaller than 6 inches wide for successful growth. Is that true? I can also remove about 4 inches of good lawn and then roll in 6-inch strips Ė but that means removing lots of good grass, and if it should fail to catch, Iíve ruined a very visible part of my lawn!

Seeding will take longer to grow but may make more sense. Either way, watering twice a day is gonna be very time consuming because of the amount of lineage to cover. I plan on undertaking this mid-September when it starts to get cool. Rainy days will aid with the watering.

Looking for suggestions to do it right. Specifically, has anyone successfully laid sod in such a small width? Thanks in advance
Steveromo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2019, 05:38 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 18,696
Rewards Points: 23,738
Blog Entries: 11
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


If you keep it watered it should be fine.
I have often trimmed strips off the edge of my sidewalk that 2 inches or less and used them successfully as sod.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2019, 05:58 PM   #3
retired framer
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 26,190
Rewards Points: 20,270
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


For the cost of a bit of grass, it is well worth the try.
__________________
Do not use flat bottom gables with scissor trusses.
Nealtw is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2019, 06:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,293
Rewards Points: 7,506
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


I have put down sod a number of times. Never 2" strips, but for sure the edges have the greatest risk, so I can believe the advice that 6" strips is safer than 2" strips.

Trouble with seed is that its a lot of time to keep it moist, and then a bunch of weeds are going to come up with the grass.
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 06:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 4,070
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


Those same weeds will come up with sod also.
Canarywood1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 06:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,293
Rewards Points: 7,506
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


No they don't.
Msradell likes this.
SPS-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 09:02 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


Thanks for the replies and advice! Will follow up later in Fall with the results
Steveromo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 02:21 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 298
Rewards Points: 576
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


Get the thickest sod you can....1-2 inch. Cut it to 3 inches wide and cram it in tightly.
Cedrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 10:20 PM   #9
Member
 
DoomsDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Coastal Southern California
Posts: 2,889
Rewards Points: 5,522
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


@steveromo mo, what kind of grass?

If Kentucky Blue, keep moist.
DoomsDave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 07:57 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 3,536
Rewards Points: 6,995
Default

Re: Can I Lay a Thin Strip Using Sod?


We do what Joed does all the time. Keeping it watered is a PITA.
__________________
Colbyt
Retired drapery and home furnishings installer.
Colbyt is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts