Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > How To Guides

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2009, 08:50 PM   #1
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Problem: my historic house has crown moulding that is unique - store bought moulding has wrong proportions and shallow spring angles.

Here's the three piece unit I need to recreate. The right side is the 'low run'.


1. I glued up some 2x2x36 poplar stock so it would be easier to run through the router.

2. I marked the stock with the original pattern:


3. Using my table saw I eased the waste corner of the stock so the router will have less work to do:

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 08:55 PM   #2
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


4. Using the bit for the lowest cut I make the first pass:


5. Using the bit for the next cut I make the second pass

6. Using the table saw I make an angle cut and a straight cut to separate the moulding from the stock.

Here is the original with the recreation:


It's not a perfect match, but it's in the ballpark

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 08:59 PM   #3
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


For the top run I used some bigger stock to start:


1. Marked the pattern on the stock

2. Eased the corner with the table saw:



3. My first bit required more than one pass. I started with the bit in a low position and slowly increased it's height for successive passes:
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 09:03 PM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


4. I changed bits for the second pass - I had to slow down the router for the bigger bit:


5. Pass 3 also required changing the height of the bit some.

Here's the almost final product with the original:


It still needs some fine tuning - but this procedure yielded me a finished product in my test runs that I will be happy using. Next step is to go into mass production.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 12:09 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,267
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Great walk through... thanks for adding that!
__________________
Nathan

"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose." - Jim Elliot
Nathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 10:11 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Glad it worked out for you Leah, I have to admit my previous skepticism! You did well.

Question...How are you going to cut the back of the crown from the patterned piece you show in the last picture. I'd be really concerned with the safety of doing it on the tablesaw. That would be a kickback waiting to happen.

Or with the overall projection of the three piece crown do you have enough room to basically leave it as it is and hang it?
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:16 PM   #7
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Termite - allay your fears. I'll post the pics of cutting the moulding free. I assure you - it's Team Safety First at my house.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 05:48 PM   #8
Fixer-'til-broker
 
DIYtestdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 358
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


SWEET!

I've been thinking about doing the same for my base molding, since nowhere local has anything I want. Now that I am back on my feet (sprained foot), I have a new router plate that fits in my saw table and I've been planning jigs and sleds and bits...OH MY!
__________________
"Aw! Why does everything that only happens to stupid people happens to me?" - Homer J. Simpson
DIYtestdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 07:44 PM   #9
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Here are the next steps:
6. Using a slightly canted angle (I used 7 degrees) and set the desired depth, I make the first cut to separate the top of the moulding from the stock:


7. Using a 45 degree angle and setting a deeper depth I make a second cut for the 'back' of the moulding:


8. Using the same 7 degree angle I separate the moulding from the stock with the final cut:


Doing it in this order allowed me work both sides of the stock without ever making any risky cuts.

I ran 56 feet of one pattern today. I have a 'helper', an 11 yo who lives on my street. Tomorrow, her job is to do some light sanding and prime the moulding I made today!
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 09:15 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
4. I changed bits for the second pass - I had to slow down the router for the bigger bit:


5. Pass 3 also required changing the height of the bit some.

Here's the almost final product with the original:


It still needs some fine tuning - but this procedure yielded me a finished product in my test runs that I will be happy using. Next step is to go into mass production.
Now That's a router table !!! I made crown molding on my table saw. The more of an angle of the wood , the larger the radius. Takes a number of passes, But at the time I was happy of the results. Then I used my router for the more intricate cuts. Thanks for your info.
havcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 12:18 PM   #11
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Wow that's awesome! I've always wondered how custom moulding could be made. Can you actually operate a table saw safely alone or do you need someone guiding the lumber as you push it through? I'm thinking about the very long 8' + pieces, I'm sure it's a task to maneuver it when the table saw is 8-9 feet from you.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 08:13 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


... A router table can be used to make moulding, but it is not the best machine for the job. A Moulder is...such as a williams & hussey/shop fox or grizzley etc. If you don't want to buy these machines...which are really not that much money, as you can get them for 500-700 off Craigslist...I would find a local millwork shop and have them custom make you anything you want. You will get much better and more professional results, save your self time and aggrivation.
TBFghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 08:25 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


leah great job. the previous poster is right that if you are going to try to match custom crown, bedmold and other types of profiles invest in a molder you will be glad you did. I worked at a custom millwork shop doing restorations on Monticello in charlottesville va. we used to grind our own knives to cut long ago profiles to match, these days you can go to a shop that does restoration and if they dont have the knife in their system you can give them your profile and a computer will cut the knife profile for you. you have a great set up there but think about just setting up one time with one knife . once you try it you'll never look back. peace timothy
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 11:56 PM   #14
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 7
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Thanks for the advice - my local millwork shop wanted $400 before they would even look at anything. So I DIY'd.

If I ever need to make any more than 25-50 linear feet I will use this method again.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 10:48 AM   #15
Enough is Enough
 
H. A. S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 0
Default

How To use a router to make crown moulding


Fantastic tutorial, Leah!

Personally, I hate to do moldings. I love the set-up, cutting parts....just hate the sanding and finishing.

H. A. S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repairing Bad Crown Moulding Install jirishboy Carpentry 10 10-02-2008 09:05 PM
Crown Moulding throughout forcheck Carpentry 16 11-21-2007 09:20 PM
Is it best to caulk new moulding edges before painting? Davo Painting 8 04-14-2007 11:12 PM
Crown Caulking Not Sure Carpentry 3 08-18-2006 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.