Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > How To Guides

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-21-2010, 08:31 PM   #1
Coconut Pete's paella!

Share |

How to install 3-prong outlets in your old house

WARNING WARNING!!!! DANGER WILL ROBINSON - DANGER!!!!!!!!

I am not an electrician or a contractor, I can not be held responsible for what you do in your own house with these pictures, I am simply sharing my findings with you guys and figured someone might benefit from them.

REMEMBER::::: Shut off the breaker!!! If you don't know what breaker it is..... Shut off the main one!!!!! Play it safe!!!!!

Well... onto the action. If you hav an old house chances are you have some of these awesome ancient 2-prong 34 times painted over outlets like I have, I decided it was time for them to go.

CoconutPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
Coconut Pete's paella!

Recommended tools:

Requied supplies: You might not need as many, but I was doing 20 outlets so I opted for the contractor pack.... I also recomend a worklight if you are doing this at dusk or at night - a 30 foot cord allowed me to run it downstairs where I still had power on.

Old 02-21-2010, 08:37 PM   #3
Coconut Pete's paella!

Unscrew the old outlet cover, remove it and do the same w/ the outlet.

Since everything is metal in my house, connecting the pigtail to the box will provide a ground since the box is grounded through the conduit.

Last edited by CoconutPete; 03-02-2010 at 03:28 PM.
Old 02-21-2010, 08:39 PM   #4
Coconut Pete's paella!

All buttoned up....

Now doesn't that look better?

You should have the same voltage with your pins in the hot/neutral as hot/ground.

Old 02-21-2010, 08:42 PM   #5
Coconut Pete's paella!

I found that on some of my outlets the hot phase was on the left and on some of them it was on the right.