Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > DIY Repair > How To Guides

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-15-2010, 07:39 AM   #1
Licensed P.E./Home Insp

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

How to avoid surprises when buying a house

This thread is for all of the "wow, didn't see that coming when I looked at this house" experiences. I'm a licensed engineer and licensed home inspector, and I'm going to try to add some nuggets of experience from the time I (and the guys in our office) spend doing inspections. So in the future, if you're with your home inspector walking through a home that you are interested in purchasing, maybe you'll have a few more things to ask him to check. It might avoid a surprise after you move in. Oh, and please feel free to add your own "gotcha's".

First up:

The dreaded "vacant building choke hold syndrome".

If a house (regardless of age) has been vacant for any period of time (which is sadly a condition more prevalant now than ever), the plumbing drains, traps, and waste lines could pose problems for you that can't be caught during a normal inspection. Root balls, dried up solids and paper, and partial collapses are things a typical inspection won't catch, because the standard of care typically only calls for running tap water in the fixtures during the time of the inspection. In order to catch these larger problems before you buy and move in, bring it up during the inspection as a concern. The inspector will include it on his/her report. He probably can't physically do the sewer line inspection, but he can note it in the report and recommend a video inspection. This could avoid the scenario of you moving in, spending the first couple days in the house, only to realize then that your sewer line is clogged with a root ball, old solids, or a partial collapse, and you've filled the plumbing lines up to the gills with waste.

Aggie67 is offline   Reply With Quote