Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Green Home Improvement

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-28-2009, 12:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Nansulate HomeProtect - any thoughts or experience with it

First of all, I have no experience or invested interest in it. I heard about it from my coworker who used it in his house and noticed considerable improvement.

I am considering using this on our house and would like to see what you guys and gals think

http://www.nansulate.com/Nansulate_and_LEED.htm

BimmerRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 05:27 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 14

Did your co-worker do the work himself?

gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 07:09 PM   #3

I have not used Nansulate, but I have used an additive by Hy-Tech:
http://hytechsales.com/insulating_paint_additives.html

At first, I was skeptical. I purchased enough for 1 gallon to try. I painted the ceiling of the hallway of my ranch house in Illinois. During mid November, later that year, I was in the attic working on some electrical stuff, and had moved the insulation above one of the bedrooms. The backside of the sheetrock was very warm to the touch. I then went over the hallway, and checked the same, and it was cool to the touch! WoW! It had worked. I since have painted the outside walls to the bedrooms and bath, and noticed a huge difference. I also coated the subfloor of my bathroom with their Barrier Coat#85 prior to installing electric warm tile floor heat system, and have noticed similar results. Instead of installing a water heater blanket, I mixed a small batch of enamel and painted the outside of my 1976 water heater. Instead of being very warm to the touch on the outside, it is now cool, and I turned the thermostat down under the normal setting. This past summer I painted my entire living/dining room, and cannot wait to see the results this winter.