Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Green Home Improvement

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-12-2012, 01:42 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Cool

Midwest total do-over

Hi Guys! I'm new to this forum. My dad was a plumber and then heating / ac / water engineer, it runs in my blood I'm a high tech engineer. Did plenty of jobs on my cars, and now I am buying a foreclosure home which is on a very nice green lot in super convenient neighborhood, but is very small and has a completely messed up (broken or non-existent) systems. With the $$ saved on the cheap buy, I can now invest in great improvements. I am trying to gain total efficiency by planning and doing *all* improvements together. Now thinking through this, and September->November is time to build it all.

Here are the features of this place:

* runs on well water, no city water available (except at high $$). well water system is trash and needs replaced
* has city gas, furnace is trash
* electric water heater is trash
* has city sewer (not that it matters that much)
* has 1/2 acre lot (at least, will expand a bit as I am maneuvering the system)
* mid-west sump-pumpy part city, high water table
* floors all need complete do-over (except tiles in kitchen could stay)
* garage needs turned into a living room and it has an interesting high gabled roof which I want to use as a loft
* it's to tiny that more room is sorely needed: adding an addition of at least 24ft x 15ft, looking into digging basement
* need to rip out a dead tree in the yard, where the root is would be prefect place for an in-ground pool, so I will get all excavation work done in one fell swoop
* want to use the dirt for landscaping, creating good slope away from the home
* Where I'm from sump-pumps are "funny" to say it mildly, while I'm at it will put a decent perimeter drain and have dry basement that way

Now the idea: