Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Green Home Improvement

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-16-2011, 09:49 PM   #1

Share |

Any thoughts on using attic heat?

I keep thinking how warm my attic is during the winter months, or how warm it could be with some work. Now, I understand why we need to ventilate the attic to prevent ice dams, but what about when there is no snow built up on the roof?
I'm thinking if I was to put some sort of fan in the attic space and draw the air into the basement it would provide a substantial source of heat during the winter months. I would think allowing the make up air into the attic at a lower point in the space would negate any humidity issues.
I'm imagining it would take a few dampers and some automation sequencing to stop the fan and ventilate the attic back to a cooler ambient temperature when it was required to prevent ice damming. But luckily I work in the HVAC industry and have a few actuators, relays and control modules at my disposal. I also have a nice dark roof with a southern exposure.
So, what do you guys think? Any issues you could think of that could potentially cause problems?
Thanks guys

52Caddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 10:30 AM   #2