Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 07:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Share |
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


Bought our first house last year. Attic got warm last summer, but with the heat wave right now, its absolutely roasting and holding heat in at night. Looking into a whole house fan, when I realized... we have zero intake vents, and probably inadequate exhaust venting.







At 1290 sq ft and built 3/12, how much venting should I have? If those 3 vents are standardized sizes, how much do I have? Are there any miracle products here, or am I resigned to tons of OC minis?

__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,196
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


Install a ridge vent and none of the other vents will be needed.
For soffit vents you need to figure out if that's just wooden blocking between the rafter tails. If it is then round pop in vents can be added or better yet knock them completly out and box in those exposted rafter tails with vented soffit.
That will get rid of the need to have to paint around that mess and give you plenty of venting, and look a whole lot better.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


Do not bang out those blocks, they are required for a truss roof.
CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:45 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 378
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


You need 1sqft of venting for every 300sqft of ceiling space, so around 4sqft for your house. Half of that should be at the ridge and half at the two soffits. Your existing gravity vents are about 0.42sqft each, so you could use another two at least (it may be easier to install a ridge vent). Those round puck vents you mentioned are about 0.02sqft of venting, meaning you would need 100 of them per side (they are basically useless). Continuous soffit or square vent would work better, and joecaption's suggestion for the vents would be easiest.
shazapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Install a ridge vent and none of the other vents will be needed.
For soffit vents you need to figure out if that's just wooden blocking between the rafter tails. If it is then round pop in vents can be added or better yet knock them completly out and box in those exposted rafter tails with vented soffit.
That will get rid of the need to have to paint around that mess and give you plenty of venting, and look a whole lot better.
When you say "none of the other vents will be needed" you're referring only to exhaust vents right?

Indeed, it's just blocking. With building out the soffit, would I just cover the underside with that perforated white sheeting?
__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


Quote:
Originally Posted by CopperClad View Post
Do not bang out those blocks, they are required for a truss roof.
No engineered trusses. Only two stick-built 1x trusses.
__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 09:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


I'm sorry, I'm not familiar with the term " Only two stick-built 1x trusses. " Those are 2x4's for rafters yes? Do you have a solid ridge ?
CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Zero Intake Vents... d'oh!


Quote:
Originally Posted by CopperClad View Post
I'm sorry, I'm not familiar with the term " Only two stick-built 1x trusses. " Those are 2x4's for rafters yes? Do you have a solid ridge ?
Looks like 2x4, yes. The ridge is probably solid... can't remember and not at home right now.

The trusses are built out of 1x8. There are only two of them. They do not use any nailing plates or cleats that I've seen. They look like they were added as an afterthought when the last set of shingles went on. The roof looks to have the original slats.

I'll post pictures once my wifi comes back up.

__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are gable vents adequate for intake ventilation? Bryan5665 Roofing/Siding 4 10-20-2011 07:13 PM
Ventilation - Opposing gable, limited soffit + box vents = Screwed up? darlingm Roofing/Siding 1 09-07-2011 10:13 AM
proper intake vents for ridge vent?? arty007 Roofing/Siding 14 07-31-2010 12:28 PM
Atic: Adding Intake and Exhaust Vents (Maybe Ridge) arcane Roofing/Siding 9 07-22-2010 06:20 PM
Air Intake vents....do I need them in basement? yummy mummy HVAC 7 09-21-2007 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.