What Can You Tell From These Roof Damage Photos? - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-20-2013, 08:01 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

What can you tell from these roof damage photos?

This is found on the roof of an investment property that I'm looking to purchase. The damage near the front has been there for at least 1-2 months, minimum.

From what you can see, how serious does this damage appear to be, what might I be looking at to repair this cost-wise? Obviously this is not just to the sheathing as it looks like a big hole, but what might I be looking at in damage and costs on the surface and for the framing below it if you think that is likely damaged?

Also, generally, about the roof from the little you can see, any comments (I have zero experience with roofing work)? What can you tell from these roof damage photos?-3_12-161.jpg

What can you tell from these roof damage photos?-3_12-209.jpg

What can you tell from these roof damage photos?-3_12-160.jpg,

Advertisement

99altrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 08:06 PM   #2
Pro Slate Roofer

Rewards Points: 1,038

Plan on tearing it all off and putting a new roof on. Looks like 3 layers to me. Possibly extensive damage on the rake because it looks like that outer-rake rafter is sagged too. No telling about interior damage, but the whole roof is shot. Don't forget to figure the shed roof in too.

Advertisement

tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tinner666 For This Useful Post:
kwikfishron (03-20-2013), oh'mike (04-10-2013)
Old 03-20-2013, 08:06 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 664

Need a whole new roof and possible new sheathing. I'd be surprzed if there was a lot more going on in the attic and ceilings.
That roof is long over due.