Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-19-2012, 09:54 AM   #1

Share |
Question

Water leaking from behind gutter

I have a similiar issue to this video:

I'm in Hershey PA, and have a covered porch roof that never had a gutter on it for 5 years. I just had a gutter put on two days ago, and am having the issue shown in the other persons video above.

I called the company that put the gutter on and he said "he forgot to REMOVE the drip edge when he installed the gutter". Do you think that will fix my issue, by him removing the drip edge? I'm new at this, and just want the leaking fixed.

I can try to post pics of my setup and make my own video if that will help you guys help me?

Collegeboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 11:55 AM   #2

Could be the same issue though without seeing your setup, we don't know.

Also, take a level to your gutter to make sure they are NOT level. Have them re-slope them toward the drain if necessary.

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 03:24 PM   #3
"So I Re-Wired It"

Sorry to say, but your gutter installer is an idiot.
Removing the dripedge is not any kind of answer.

You might think of gutters as outdoor plumbing. And as in plumbing all fittings must go inside each other to prevent leaking.
The drip edge is installed under shingles so water runs off the roof and over the drip edge to prevent water from going behind the fascia.
This also applies to gutters. The back of the gutter must go under the dripedge so water flows directly into the gutter and not behind.

In the video it appears water was gettimg under the dripedge because of broken slate.
Bottom line, if the roof and dripedge were installed correctly, the gutter needs to be raised up so the back will tuck under the drip edge. Everything needs to overlap.