Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 10:32 AM   #1
Cape Cod, MA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Water in Fireplace?


During heavy rain storms. Im getting some drops of water in the fireplace. Is this normal? I do have a chimney cap but im still getting drops of water comming in.

Thanks,
Aaron

capecodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 01:22 PM   #2
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 6,938
Rewards Points: 3,016
Default

Water in Fireplace?


A picture of the fireplace from outside would help quite a bit.

What is the fireplace made of? Brick and mortar or is it siding with a flue chase?

Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:40 AM   #3
Cape Cod, MA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Water in Fireplace?


Sorry for the late reply. Had to chop this picture due to size requirements.

Any ideas?
Attached Thumbnails
Water in Fireplace?-chimney.jpg  
capecodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:00 AM   #4
Residential Roofer
 
Slyfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Struthers, Ohio
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Water in Fireplace?


I would start with checking the crown of the chimney:
1. Cracks in the cement.
2. Proper seal around the chimney cap where it sets on the crown.
3. Cap completely covers liner.

It's not normal to have water dripping in...
__________________
God Family Country Work Play
Facebook <> Twitter
Slyfox Exteriors Co.
Slyfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 08:35 AM   #5
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 6,938
Rewards Points: 3,016
Default

Water in Fireplace?


Crowns are the most likely suspect.

Fix it now because it will only get worse and take the chimney with it when it goes.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:01 AM   #6
Cape Cod, MA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Water in Fireplace?


I did go up there a while back and I did notice that there is a crack in the cement. It starts at the edge where the cement meets the brick and goes to the flue? (orange thing, correct term?) The crack does go under the chimney cap. Is there a way I can repair this myself?
capecodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:13 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Water in Fireplace?


You need to cut out the area to make it wider and deeper clean it out and apply morter. Tuck pointing needs about 1/2 deep crack made so it will stay stuck to the old morter.
How far above morter does that tile stick up. (the orange thing as you call it)
There needs to be at least 1" or water can get in.
Also that's a horrible flashing job done around the base of the chimmney. I'd be looking in the attic for leaks around that area.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:26 AM   #8
Cape Cod, MA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Water in Fireplace?


As far as the tile, it sticks out 3 or 4 inches so I dont think that is an issue. As far as the flashing, thats another issue. I had my roofing replaced with certainteed centenial slate, and they reused the flashing at the bottom and sides, but made it look alot neater. The back side they replaced the flashing. It leaks during heavy rain storms. Thats another issue I will be posting about. As far as this repair, is this something I might be able to handle myself? or do I need to hire someone to repair this? I found this site that seems informative... http://www.handymanclub.com/projects.../chimney-crown
capecodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 09:57 AM   #9
Cape Cod, MA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Water in Fireplace?


I was reading that it is a possibility that this leaking chimney crown may be causing my leaks that I think may be flashing problems? When my roofing contractor came up 2 weeks ago he checked the flashing and applied some cauling to the seam where the flashing meets the brick? I looked at it myself and although im no expert it looked like the flashing was somewhat ok. I plan to go up on the roof soon to take some pictures.
capecodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:29 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Water in Fireplace?


All we have to go on is the picture so it may well be ok when looked at on site. It just looked like to thin a material was used for the step flashing and it had opened up some.
We also add an extra step that would involve adding a second soild flasing over the step flashing, so from the ground it looks better and keeps driving rain from working it's way into the gaps on the steps.
http://www.familyhandyman.com/DIY-Pr...g/Step-By-Step
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:39 AM   #11
Cape Cod, MA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Water in Fireplace?


I get home around 6pm, and its usually dark by the time I get in. This weekend I will go up during daylight hours and take some detailed pictures of the flashing around the chimney and the cracks at the crown. I will also take some pictures from inside the attic. I do really appriciate the help. I just want to get this solved.

I pick things up quickly so I dont mind investing some time and money in tools to get this done properly.

I called my roofer back a second time and hes scratching his head. At this point I dont think I want him back. My problem is that I dont know if the problem is related to flashing or the cracks in the crown. I would also like to know if a cricket/saddle should be fabricated.

I will post pictures as soon as possible.

Thanks,
Aaron
capecodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:46 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Water in Fireplace?


Without a cricket above that chimmney it's a great place for water and leaves to pool up and cause a leak.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 12:15 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,681
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Water in Fireplace?


"capecodder"
Yes, post better pictures!

rossfingal
rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 02:27 PM   #14
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Water in Fireplace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rossfingal View Post
"capecodder"
Yes, post better pictures!

rossfingal
+1

Maybe it's me but it looks from the one photo you posted like the chimney cap is missing it's top. I've never seen one that did not have a flange that was a couple of inches wider in diameter than the cage.
Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 03:25 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Western suburbs, Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,681
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Water in Fireplace?


Yeah "Ironlight" -
don't see any "wings" extending beyond the "cage"
sort of, looks like they're on the inside of the "cage".

RF
(I think you've got better eyes then I have!)

rossfingal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grossly insufficient water supply to toilet wasting water? mysterylectric Plumbing 8 01-17-2012 12:19 PM
gas fireplace with same vent as furnace & water heater? Van3 HVAC 0 01-30-2011 05:21 PM
Oil fired furnace and hot water heater question steveinpa Plumbing 3 08-10-2010 09:42 AM
How Do I Properly Shock Chlorinate a Water Softner classicflytyer Plumbing 5 07-14-2009 01:15 AM
Periodic release from (I think) the T&P valve on the water heater alexz Plumbing 3 08-15-2006 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.