Vent Pipe Installation - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-17-2010, 11:04 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Vent Pipe installation

I have no vent pipe on my roof, and I would like to install maybe 1 or 2.
I have a split lvl, with cathedral ceiling.
I have no experience with roofing but I am pretty handy.
Am I better off asking a pro to install all this or is this easyly doable by ourselves?
If so, where should I start at?
I know this isnt anything very specific, but this is the first bit of information I am trying to find before getting into this for real!

Advertisement

FwoGiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 11:12 AM   #2
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

Vent Pipe installation

Always best to ask BEFORE we screw it up, right? Yes, it's easily a DIY project, and you're in the right place to get assistance at any and all stages of the process. But..... why a new pipe? Where do you vent now, if this a plumbing vent? Or are you talking about a roof vent for heat transfer?

DM

Advertisement

Old 07-17-2010, 11:21 AM   #3

Vent Pipe installation

indeed, better ask before screwing up, specially when we re talkin roof eh?
A new pipe, because I have NONE!! I am the only house owner on the street without one... my house if 13yo. I only have those vent on the side of the house, which prolly aren't half close to the efficiency of a real good vent pipe, right? I do want the thing to transfer the heat, to help with lifespan of the roof.
My father used to tell me about "Maximum chimney or vent or fan" not too sure... Anyhow, the thing that starts rotating when it's hot outside, to evacuate hot air!
Thanks a lot for ULTRA fast response
Old 07-17-2010, 11:59 AM   #4
the Musigician

Vent Pipe installation