Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2007, 08:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


We had a continuous ridge vent installed when we replaced our old roof. Did not have one before.

When I went into the attic to see how it looked from the inside, I could not see the vent. And when I turned out the light in the attic it is pitch black- no light coming in anywhere at the ridge.

Here is a picture inside the attic looking up at the ridge and towards one side of the house.. The three boards together (darker looking wood) form a beam all the way across the ridge from side to side.

Sure seems like a ridge vent is wrong for our type of construction since the beam inside seals off the ridge.

Opinions appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Useless Ridge Vent?-roof-attic-beam-2.jpg  

itwerx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 08:40 PM   #2
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


Quote:
Originally Posted by itwerx2 View Post
We had a continuous ridge vent installed when we replaced our old roof. Did not have one before.

When I went into the attic to see how it looked from the inside, I could not see the vent. And when I turned out the light in the attic it is pitch black- no light coming in anywhere at the ridge.

Here is a picture inside the attic looking up at the ridge and towards one side of the house.. The three boards together (darker looking wood) form a beam all the way across the ridge from side to side.

Sure seems like a ridge vent is wrong for our type of construction since the beam inside seals off the ridge.

Opinions appreciated.

Not saying this is def. the case (tho, it looks like it)......

..... but, did they...possibly......attach the ridge vent...without cutting out the actual ridge sheathing....????

AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 09:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


When you have a wide ridge beam or multiple ridge boards, the specifications require the slot cut out to be slightly larger than typical. I can not tell from your photo, because it is on an angle, but it does not appear to have the slot cut out past the ridge boards.

It should be, but I defer to the ridge vent manufacturers exact specifications first. They may not allow a slot so wide as your situation.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 09:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


Ed- no, the slot does not extend beyond the ridge boards. No space between the boards and sheathing.

Atlantic WB- as far as I know, the sheathing was cut. Would have thought the crew would have stopped the installation when they saw the boards there. But I've heard that finding this situation is not that rare and the crew usually just goes ahead.
itwerx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 09:51 PM   #5
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed the Roofer View Post
When you have a wide ridge beam or multiple ridge boards, the specifications require the slot cut out to be slightly larger than typical. I can not tell from your photo, because it is on an angle, but it does not appear to have the slot cut out past the ridge boards.
It should be, but I defer to the ridge vent manufacturers exact specifications first. They may not allow a slot so wide as your situation.
Ed
Ed,...yes...that could very well be the case... ..

..that is a larger sized ridge beam....
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 11:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


So at this point it looks like we will be getting rid of the ridge vent and adding some square vents on the roof.

What is the best way to deal with the slot that was cut for the ridge vent? Should metal be put on to form a new ridge before the cap shingles? Other recommendations? Thanks.
itwerx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 12:59 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


You could piece it in with a same width of new plywood to fill in the gap. One sheet at 3" wide will get you 128 lineal feet.

You can also have the contractor come back out and do his ridge vent correctly.

Get the specifications from the manufacturer of that particular brand of ridge vent from their website.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 04:35 PM   #8
Member
 
the roofing god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona,New York,10970
Posts: 877
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via MSN to the roofing god
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


usually we would shim the sheathing slightly higher on the beam so the air flow would reach the ridge vent
__________________
"If it`s worth doing,It`s worth doing right!!"

www.ADVANCEDROOFINGNEWYORK.com
the roofing god is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 08:06 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


Good advice TRG, but a little out dated.

See the date on the OP.

It still may help somebody else though.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 09:59 PM   #10
Member
 
the roofing god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona,New York,10970
Posts: 877
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via MSN to the roofing god
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


since I saw you guys didn`t have a solution, I threw it out there,figuring someone else will run into it again
__________________
"If it`s worth doing,It`s worth doing right!!"

www.ADVANCEDROOFINGNEWYORK.com
the roofing god is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 10:37 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


Besides your alternative and very costly solution, the better one would have, at that time, have the contractor come back out and cut the slot to the proper width as per the alternative dimensions provided by the manufacturer, when encountering a ridge beam, which was already suggested.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2007, 10:42 PM   #12
Member
 
the roofing god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona,New York,10970
Posts: 877
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via MSN to the roofing god
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


no silly,he should have had the contractor come out ,remove the r.v.,shim up the plywood and reinstall it,the cut would be too wide for the ridge vent to sit right,and to have enough lap as water protection
__________________
"If it`s worth doing,It`s worth doing right!!"

www.ADVANCEDROOFINGNEWYORK.com
the roofing god is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 02:10 PM   #13
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,607
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


See it often and I think it was Shingle Monkey had one of his guys make the same mistake: The bevel wasn't set on the saw so the cut would be perpendicular to the ground! Just setting the bevel 45~ will give 3/4" more airflow.
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 03:23 PM   #14
Member
 
the roofing god's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona,New York,10970
Posts: 877
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via MSN to the roofing god
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


it was a triple wide beam frank
__________________
"If it`s worth doing,It`s worth doing right!!"

www.ADVANCEDROOFINGNEWYORK.com
the roofing god is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 04:56 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Useless Ridge Vent?


I thought it was a double until your post # 12 when I looked closer at it, so I decided to shutup.

Ed

Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge Vent: width of cut judym Roofing/Siding 12 09-09-2012 03:20 AM
Another Ridge Vent, Gable vent and soffit question (??) davco Roofing/Siding 2 05-01-2007 12:14 AM
Ridge vent question dpreznik Roofing/Siding 7 04-13-2007 04:03 PM
Ridge vent installation cost Douche Roofing/Siding 1 07-26-2006 05:59 AM
Ridge Vent - Low-pitched roof? brianp Roofing/Siding 2 05-08-2006 09:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.