Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2007, 09:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

TJI spacing


What size TJI joists do I need to span 30 ft and at what spacing to have a 30 lb snow load. Iwas guessing a 4 foot spacing but don't know for sure and sure don't know the size TJI joist, THX!
PS...Single pitch roof that drops 1:12 pitch.


Last edited by jimjam; 07-07-2007 at 10:27 PM. Reason: forgot roof pitch
jimjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 06:06 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 0
Default

TJI spacing


Contact your supplier, they'll have all the information you need to size and space the joist correctly.

RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 06:22 AM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 0
Default

TJI spacing


Exactly.

They will tell you what information you need to provide them with in order for them to run the calculations for the joist dimensions.

Usually, if you confirm that you are going to be purchasing the joists from them, they will do this at no additional charge.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 08:13 PM   #4
Extreme DIY'r Adk's, NY
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 0
Default

TJI spacing


good recommendations guys, varies by manufacturer for one thing.

but lets steer him in the right direction... look at the numbers... 1:12 pitch 30 psf loading... that probably means 30psf live snow load plus 10-15 dead load for roof material...no?? If so I'd guesstimate 24" oc MAX with like 14" or 16" deep joists! If I were winging a quote I'd base it on 16" oc 16" joists, can probably go 19.2oc though.

I designed my whole house with these, GP brand. They said it couldnt be done. Their layout had me framing each room in a different direction with varying heights... what a pita. I was trying to run hydroponic heating and didnt want to deal with that mess. I talked to that guys boss and had them send me the loads their software calculated that were transferred down from the roofs and their span charts. I laid it out all in one direction, added some lvls of the same height here and there and two columns and sent it back to them and they pretty much stamped it...lol
crecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shingle seam spacing fredhedd Roofing/Siding 7 04-08-2009 06:52 AM
rafter spacing Clutchcargo Building & Construction 5 08-11-2007 02:14 PM
Sonotube spacing billinak Building & Construction 2 05-03-2007 04:31 PM
spindle spacing jibber Carpentry 5 02-18-2007 08:30 PM
Undercabinet lighting spacing wbjdmd Electrical 3 11-12-2006 08:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.