Tin Roof Help - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 10:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tin roof help


I'm going to put on a new tin roof over the old shingles , the roof is 15'x40
the sheets i can get are 8' and 12' but i need to go 15' so i plan to put a 12'and 4'this will let it the 4'lap the 12' one foot , do i want to keep this seam
the same across the roof or stager the seam by putting the 4' on top then on the next row put the 4' on bottom then back on top for the next . what do you think?

Advertisement

dleighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 12:04 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

tin roof help


i'd do it in 4x8s myself.... that evens out the weight and makes one solid lap.
then when the cat runs across it on a hot day, ....oh never mind...

DM

Advertisement

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 03:38 PM   #3
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

tin roof help


You need to stagger the seams. Put your sleepers down with that in mind.
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 03:40 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tin roof help


thank you, thats what i was looking for,
dleighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 10:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

tin roof help


You do not have to stager the seams. 1' is a minimal overlap, I always go at least 2'. But I wouldn't put it over asphalt shingles or shakes. The metal gets very hot and you could set the roof on fire.

Last edited by hayewe farm; 03-26-2009 at 10:19 PM.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:02 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tin roof help


thank you for the good info . it will help .
dleighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 09:15 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tin roof help


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
You do not have to stager the seams. 1' is a minimal overlap, I always go at least 2'. But I wouldn't put it over asphalt shingles or shakes. The metal gets very hot and you could set the roof on fire.
In N.Z we use metal roofing a lot We also have extremely hot summers, up to 40deg celsius. As an underlay to the roofing we use a tar based paper. As a volunteer fireman I have not seen a fire started by this manner.
lemuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 06:16 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

tin roof help


good info to know thanks

Advertisement

dleighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The moving Ice Dams after using a roof rake ?? Canufixit Roofing/Siding 9 02-05-2009 08:33 PM
Flat roof questions, advice, ballpark estimate JerryH Roofing/Siding 18 11-07-2008 05:08 PM
Flat roof - Rolled? - leaks Advice? JJ2001 Roofing/Siding 4 11-19-2006 07:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts