Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 01:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 243
Share |
Default

Is there any problem putting soffit vents where there aren't any currently?


I might be putting on a new roof in the not-too-distant future and I will have the option of a ridge vent with it. I currently have only two gable vents and no soffit vents.

I understand that a ridge vent and gable vents aren't a very good combination, so it's better to have soffits for intake. My older house has a closed overhang and soffits there. Would the best approach be to close the gables off and cut holes under the overhangs and put screens over them?

strategery is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 04:29 AM   #2
Framing Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,094
Default

Is there any problem putting soffit vents where there aren't any currently?


You will have to evaluate what is there already. Many times an older closed wooden soffit is covered up with aluminum soffit. A hole saw can bore some nice holes in the wood, and then vented soffit can be used. There are calculations that can tell you if you have enough venting in the roof. Sometimes, if given the chance, we have sealed off gable vents and installed new ridge vents to increase the venting.

sixeightten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:04 AM   #3
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,207
Default

Is there any problem putting soffit vents where there aren't any currently?


+1

You need to also poke your head up in the attic and see what you can accommodate up there.

There are all sorts of soffit venting options and what you decide on will be mostly and aesthetic choice once you have identified your options.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 06:02 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Is there any problem putting soffit vents where there aren't any currently?


I would use a continuous screened soffit vent, installed close to the fascia board for optimum performance. To get your minimum 9 NFVA at soffit, you will need 3" holes - end-to-end, the length of each soffit which may look odd.
http://www.lomanco.com/ProductPAGES/CirkVents.html

http://www.airvent.com/homeowner/pro...it-specs.shtml

pp. 616; http://books.google.com/books?id=Z8a...0vents&f=false

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:17 PM   #5
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Default

Is there any problem putting soffit vents where there aren't any currently?


Where do you live? If you are in an area subject to wind-driven brush fires, like So Cal, soffit vents are a bad idea. Wind pushes burning embers up into soffit vents and starts a fire in your attic.

My house is built like yours, just gable vents. I am about to reroof and put in O'Hagin vents, the ember-resistant Fire and Ice line.
http://www.ohaginvent.com/

You put in a row of them low on the roof to intake like soffit vent, and another row high on the roof to exhaust hot air.

I'll be keeping the gable vents, but will be putting 1/8" galvanized screening on the inside to help keep embers from entering.

Last edited by M3 Pete; 12-12-2011 at 01:23 PM.
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 04:17 PM   #6
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 6,207
Default

Is there any problem putting soffit vents where there aren't any currently?


Anything in the attic that is combustible should be covered with non-combustible insulation.

Gables will let in just as many embers as soffits.

If his gable vents were enough before, air sealing and insulating the attic floor with further reduce his necessity for ventilation rendering the soffits and or supplemental vents unnecessary.
Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 09:41 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 27
Default

Is there any problem putting soffit vents where there aren't any currently?


Technically, if you have "enough" ventilation from your gable vents, you don't need another attic ventilation system. We just did a historic renovation roof where the gable vents provided more than enough ventilation. Figure out the Net Free Ventilating Area (NFVA) of your gable vents and compare to your attic square footage.

Otherwise, you can get 4x16 or 8x16 screen aluminum soffit vent covers at the home store.

The gable vents you could just block up with plywood.

Aaron


Last edited by Gary in WA; 12-13-2011 at 10:21 PM. Reason: removed web link that belongs below your signature line.
Double-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soffit Vents Tunaboy Building & Construction 3 07-04-2011 08:29 PM
Do I Need Soffit Baffles If I Don't Have Soffit Vents??? jobondur Building & Construction 4 10-27-2010 12:20 PM
Installing Soffit vents w/finished attic Nathan0115 Roofing/Siding 6 06-04-2010 09:05 PM
Insulation Batt Blocking Soffit Vents mikebal Roofing/Siding 8 07-05-2008 04:58 PM
Blocked Attic Soffit Vents on North Side - How to Improve Venting Jes Roofing/Siding 5 05-06-2008 09:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.